February 2011 Recap

This year, I embarked on a Shopping Ban and allowed myself 3 exceptions.  To read more about my shopping ban, please refer to this post, and this post.  I will write a separate post on my first month of shopping ban, but for now, let’s move on to my spending re-cap.

Income: $3,384.94

Spending: $957.51

This month was under my $1,000 budget (but over my actual budget)!  For some reason, this weekend, I thought I had $6 left in my budget to carry me through, and BF and I resorted to frugal habits, such as walking to a house party and back instead of taking a cab.  Now I get my $25 reward for thrift shopping 🙂

Update: As you can see in the chart below, I am actually over budget, but I meant that I was under my $1,000 monthly budget.  I’ve changed the text accordingly, so it’s clear.

Here’s where the money went:

On or under budget

Clothes: Success!

Transportation: This could have been a bit lower (in fact, $18.62 lower), but I returned a rental car for work late and had to eat the cost.  Traffic in the City is sure expensive.  Drats!

Over budget

Eating Out: This is such a weakness for me, but at least I’m getting closer to my budget.

Toiletries/Grooming: Got my eyebrows done since I’m not sure when my next opportunity will be.

Entertainment and Recreation: I paid for my volleyball league fee’s and went on an unexpected cottage weekend trip.

Here is my net worth:

Summary:

Overall, I am very pleased with this month’s outcome.  I went over budget but came under my $1,000 monthly budget goal and I was able to stick to my shopping ban!  I like short months :).  I’ve crunched the numbers, and I think I can come really close to a net worth of $100,000 by the end of this year.  Eeeek!  I’m so excited!

I’ve done my preliminary taxes (by hand, of course), and will be checking them against my electronic file.  I hope to be getting a return of about $1,500.  Not sure how I’m going to divvy up my little pot of gold, yet.

March is going to be an over $1,000 budget month.  BF and I have been discussing a little winter ski trip (more on that later), and I will be going skiing with my company for a day (need rentals and pay back co-workers for gas).  I also need to pay up another set of vball league fee’s.  Will post a March budget soon.

How was your spending in February?  Did you meet your budget and goals?

Cheers,

6 Comments

Filed under Net Worth

6 responses to “February 2011 Recap

  1. Your blogs are great. I love the “shopping ban” idea. My husband and I are having a “poor month” which makes besides regular bills, groceries, etc. we cannot spend any extra dime! No going out to eat, no renting a movie… we are living poor for one month!!!! I’d love for you to be a reader of my blog. seems like we have a lot in common. keep up the good work.

  2. Cheya

    I just stumbled upon your blog today & I love it! Over the past few months I have been getting my finances together (paying off all credit cards, putting budget in place, etc…) & you have inspired me to try a shopping ban of my own. I like your rule of only allowing replacement purchases since beauty products are always a huge weakness for me!
    Thanks for the inspiration. I look forward to your future posts, I’m a new follower for sure! 🙂

    • Welcome, Cheya. Thanks for following and your support 🙂

      I’ve been inspired by so many individuals, and am so humbled that inspire you!

      I’m putting together a list of shopping banners so we can encourage one another, I’ll add you to the list!

      I tried to make the shopping ban more realistic to suit my needs, as well. And though, I don’t need make-up, it sure is great to have 🙂

  3. Congrats on the 4% increase, what a great month!!! My February was absolutely horrendous, it was probably just luck since I decided to catch up with a bunch of friends and there were multiple family functions that required gifts.

    You’re almost to $100k that’s amazing, keep up the insanely GREAT job. You’re inspiring. And show us what you get after thrifting!!!

    • I think almost might be too optimistic! 😉

      I know what you mean, when things just don’t work out for a more wallet friendly month. Those are usually the summer for me. The warm weather just lures me out to spend money….

      Will sure share my thrifty finds! I can’t wait.

Leave a comment