Dove Dry Shampoo FAIL, and Shoppers Drugmart Rant

Dry Shampoo & me

I’m a big huge dry shampoo fan.  I’ve probably tried every drugstore, to mid-range dry shampoo out there – Tresemme, Klorane, Suave, Batiste, Oscar Blandi, Ojon.  I haven’t tried to Bumble & Bumble one, because I couldn’t wrap my head around a $50 dry shampoo.  [If you ladies attest to it, then I may try it out.  Maybe.]

Dove Dry Shampoo Quasi Review

Anyway, when I saw that Dove had come out with their own for only $7.99 and Nouveau Cheap’s rave review, I was excited to give it a try.  So, I skipped, hopped and danced over Shoppers Drugmart  (a very popular Canadian pharmacy chain similar to RiteAid, Walgreens, or CVS) and picked me up a bottle.

I tried it out right away, and my first thoughts were this:

  • strong smell (which I didn’t like)
  • not as much “dry shampoo” was dispersed from the pump as I would have liked

I used it again on the Monday following the weekend I bought it, and in addition to the above, the dry shampoo felt kind of like hair spray (similar to my experience with the Tresemme dry shampoo).

I like to try a product a few times before I deliver my verdict, because, you never know, right?  Well, I will never know, because the third time I picked up the Dove Dry Shampoo, it stopped working.

I knew something was wrong when I shook the bottle and it sounded like it was empty.  When I went to test spray the dry shampoo on my hand, a clump of wet powdery stuff came out, and that was it.  FYI: This has happened to me before on a defective bottle of Ojon, which I took back to Sephora, and they happily gave me a new bottle.

Shoppers Drugmart Rant

I wanted to take it back right away to Shoppers Drugmart to get my refund (or a new bottle), but I didn’t get around to it until a week later.

I brought back the bottle to a cashier and explained what happened.  I also told her that the bottle is defective and the product is likely all clumped together at the bottom of the can.

The cashier checked my receipt, and the bottle.  Then she tried to spray the bottle – which of course, nothing came out.

Cashier: It’s empty.

Me:  No, it’s not.  I just explained to you why it sounds like it’s empty.  The product is clumped together at the bottom of the bottle. You can’t get it out.  This has happened to me before with a defective bottle of aerosol dry shampoo.

Cashier: No, it’s empty.

Me:  No, that’s impossible, because I just bought it last week, and I only used it twice.

Cashier:  It’s empty.  Plus, you got it at another location.  I can’t refund this. 

I know she was just trying to do her job, but at this point, I should have asked to speak to her manager – someone who had authority and cared about customer service.  But, instead, I lost my cool because she was basically calling me a liar.  I raised my voice and said told her this was ridiculous, the product was defective, and stormed out.   What did it matter that I got it at another location – there are a GAZILLION locations for a reason.

I know, I know.  It was only 8 bucks.  It wasn’t very mature of me.  I just wasn’t expecting this kind of service from Shoppers Drugmart, and I don’t appreciate being treated like a liar, when I was the victim. 

Well, now I know better.  In the future, I will try not to lose my cool, and not take comments personally.

Readers, have you ever had a similar customer service experience?  Do you have any suggestions for how I can better deal with situations like these in the future?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Update:

I was still very dissatisfied with the customer service I received, so I decided to go back to the Shoppers Drugmart and talk to the store manager.   I calmly explained what happened, and said that I was taken aback from the refusal to process my refund request, when it was a defective item, which I clearly explained to the cashier.  I also admitted that I took the comment as a personal attack (that the cashier basically told me I was lying), and I left very angry, leaving behind my receipt and defective product. 

The item itself was not very expensive, but I felt that it was the principle of the matter, and wanted to bring it to her attention.  I also brought with me printed reviews I found online with other people who also had the same problem as me and provided her with a copy of these reviews.  I explained to the manager, I understood the cashier was trying to do her job, but it was a frustrating experience.  The store manager apologized, and refunded me my money, even without a receipt, and said that her staff should have asked for another assessment before making such a judgement call. 

So, even though I felt I was “wronged”, I am glad that I went back to talk to the store manager.  I have always received great customer service from Shoppers Drugmart, and now I feel better when I go back to the store.  On another note, it would be hard to boycott Shoppers as they are just so convenient and have some great sales! 🙂

33 Comments

Filed under Review

33 responses to “Dove Dry Shampoo FAIL, and Shoppers Drugmart Rant

  1. mochiandmacarons

    SDM is the best pharmacy in North America. Hands down. I’ve been to all of them all over the U.S. and Canada, and they just know business… even if they do charge about 5% more on many items to make up for their Optimum points program.

    • Yea… more like 15 – 20% for some items, but I still like them (and that’s saying a lot), and I will always shop there because they have EVERYTHING I could possibly want (except for clothes). Food, drugs, make-up – that’s almost all I need to survive! 😛

  2. bms

    I’m curious…..which is your favourite dry shampoo?

    • My favourite is a toss up between the Suave and Batiste. Unfortunately, I can’t find the Suave dry shampoo in Canada – I bought mine in the US. I’ve gone through a few bottles of Batiste and that’s my favourite “Canadian” dry shampoo, but I want to find one with the same formulation without the strong scents. I hope that helps!

  3. I’m glad you went back and were refunded. I’ve never had good luck with dry shampoo. Apparntly I always find the ones that feel like hairspray too!

  4. Ahhh! As a former Shoppers’ Cosmetician I have a hard time with this !! How rude of that girl. She was just trying to do her job, but she did not handle the situation correctly at all. I am glad the store manager rectified it. And that’s too bad about the Dove dry shampoo. I actually stay away from all of their hair care products after a friend went to a hairdresser who told her she had terrible product build-up on her hair from using Dove shampoos. And it would be super tough to boycott Shoppers, they are just TOO damn convenient haha.

  5. great that they accommodated you. i hate when im made to feel like im lying or hiding something. I have tried a few dry shampoos myself and haven’t found anything i like. my friends tell me that sephora has some that is really good, but as you would guess, i m too cheap to spend what they want for it. when/if you find something that works..pass it on to me!

  6. Susanna

    I tried the Bumble and Bumble dry shampoo and I wouldn’t recommend it. As you say, it’s very expensive. It comes in colors (I don’t know if the other types do). I got the blonde, because I am but… UGH! It’s a sticky, brown mess. An aerosol spray and of course, unless you mask off the rest of your face, body, clothes and floor, they all get brown spray on them too. And on top of that, it doesn’t work! I tried it a couple of times, figuring that maybe I was doing it wrong – the woman at the salon where I bought it suggested spraying it on your hands first and them running them through your hair.. so I ended up with brown palms and hair that still needed a wash!
    Your instinct about it is correct!
    And thank you for your blog. I find it all sorts of inspiring (Your recent paint job is GORGEOUS!)

    • Hi Susanna, thanks for stopping by and your kind words. I haven’t posted a picture of my paint job yet, but I hope to, soon! Good to know about the Bumble and Bumble dry shampoo – such a shame. I hope you were able to get your money back.

      • Susanna

        Oops! Got a bit excited about the pretty paint colours and didn’t realize till after I’d commented that you do, in fact, say that’s your inspiration, not the final look. Sorry!
        And actually I decided not to bother taking it back. I anticipated getting tons of blowback at the salon and at the time it just didn’t seem worth all the time and hassle. Live and learn!

  7. belowhermeans

    Sounds like a mess. 😦 I actually like Tresseme’s dry shampoo, do you not like it?

  8. Good to know that the Dove dry shampoo isn’t worth a hoot. Like you, I’m a big fan of dry shampoo. I’m glad to hear you got everything sorted out with SDM. It seems really bizarre that the cashier would refuse to refund a product bought at a different store – I can’t imagine a big chain like SDM having a policy like that.

    • I know, right?! I was stunned when she said that to me, and almost speechless when refused to process my refund. I NEVER would have expected that kind of customer service from SDM.

    • geekgirl

      I’m pretty sure they don’t. I’ve been in retail for years, not for SDM though, but it’s usually a lazy cashier ploy to not have to do the 5 seconds of paperwork. That and sometimes managers don’t like that returns come off their sales numbers even if it wasn’t purchased there and pressures the cashiers to ignore chain policy (sometimes to the point of lying to them in training). When in any dispute, escalate to the manager, cashiers are increasingly useless and even if you don’t get anywhere, at least you have a name to complain to corporate about. 🙂

  9. The Asian Pear

    I bought dry shampoo on sale at SDM and only used it once. It was Klorane and I wasn’t a fan. It made my hair… POOFY! I ended up kneeling over my tub washing it out. It didn’t save me time. Next time we meet up, I’ll give it to you if you want.

  10. Kay

    Good for you.. i’m so proud of you that you went back and sorted it out. I can see myself storming out of the store in anger/frustration. I have done it before at a GAP store, where they didnt call me a liar, but kept changing what they told me about a sales policy.

    They had a 40% off of your final price sale. IT was advertised as such. I had bought 2 tights for $14, individually going for $10 each. So I checked with store employee who looked like a new employee, whether I’d get 40% of $14 if I bought two.She had to go check with the store manager who said it was okay to give 40% of $14.. but when that was communicated to the cashier by store employee, she flat out refused saying, this is how it worked and she’ll give 40% of $10 each in a very taunting tone and looking at me with a weird smile hinting as if I was trying to cheat the system. The employee that reached out to manager also changed colors and told me it can’t be done. Instead of asking to talk to manager, I stormed out in anger/frustration…

    When I reached home, I figured I could have asked to speak to the manager. If store policy was not to combine 2 discounts, I’m totally fine with that. But what bothers me is why did manager say okay to do so, and why did cashier refuse…and why on earth was sale advertised 40% of FINAL PRICE and why I was treated that way??

    No I never went back to that store again. And to top it off, the tights wore out in 2 washes..

  11. I have never heard of dry shampoo until reading this post. Why dry?

  12. OMG! That’s EXACTLY what happened to me. I was ecstatic to find Dove dry shampoo. I love Dove and use almost all of their products. I used it twice before I picked it up a third time and it felt empty. Nothing came out when I tried to spray it. I was so PISSED and went back to Shopper’s, but they weren’t even going to consider giving me a refund.

    After reading this post, it clearly couldn’t have been a defective bottle.

  13. beautybudgetblog

    Wow! I also had a bad experience at shoppers recently where I went in because I had received an email on my smartphone about some promotion they were having that day. So I go in, shop for about an hour, and when I actually go to the cash register to pay they said I needed a PRINTED copy of the coupon in order to recieve the promotion! I was so annoyed! We’re living in a digital word!

    But anyway, glad the store manager was considerate and refunded you back your money!

    P/s I use fekkai dry shampoo which I bought from shoppers last year. It was about $30 (quite expensive) but its an awesome product and it lasts forever (you can probably squeeze over a year and a half on it)

  14. Nancy

    Where were you able to purchase the Batiste dry shampoo? I’ve been looking for it everywhere and I can’t seem to find it. I looked online and someone said it was banned in Canada… I hope that’s not true!

  15. Rosanna

    Hi 🙂
    i was wondering where i would be able to buy Batiste Dry Shampoo in Toronto , Canada. Thanks

  16. I bought the exact same one, how do I prevent it from clumping up like yours did? Was it effective dry shampoo?

  17. katherine

    where can you buy batiste in canada?

Leave a comment