Shopping Ban 2011

(Photograph Source)

I’ve been toying around with the idea of a shopping ban for the last year, and I’m ready to take the plunge.

I’ve been diligently tracking my “shopping” purchases, such as clothes and toiletries for the past year, and here is what I’ve come up with.

Spending Analysis 2010

Toiletries: $290

This includes make-up, moisturizer, cleanser and shampoo.  I just stocked up in shampoo and think I may have enough for the next year.

Clothing: $1313.73 $1102.89

I thought that I was doing pretty well with clothing this year, but I have spent on average $100 a month.  Big purchase this year include my lovely trench jacket from Rudsak ($200), my winter coat from Banana Republic  ($210), my red pleather purse from Nine West ($70), a pair of Clark’s sandals and Rudsak heels ($160).

Update: I’ve returned my winter coat from Banana Republic because it wasn’t warm enough (I took it outside for a test walk).

Electronics: $191.84

I bought a new hard drive ($128) at the beginning of the year, and also bought a nifty laptop backpack ($64).  I love my new laptop bag and use it almost every weekend when I visit my parents or visit BF.  It’s the perfect size for a smaller person like me, and it protects my laptop in a way that’s as stylish as a back pack can be!

Misc: $263

I put things here when I don’t know where to put them, such as, buying a lock for the gym.  This includes the City Entertainment Book ($30) and the Minimalist E-Books Package ($30).

Shopping Ban 2011 Rules:

Toiletries: I will allow myself to make purchases where I am replenishing a current product I am using, but nothing new  for the next year. I estimate this will cost approximately $180 consisting of:  1 MAC face primer, 2 MAC blotting powders, 3 eye liner pencils, 1 eye brow pencil, 2 liquid eye liners, 2 bottles of SpectroJel, 2 bottles of Jojoba Oil, 6 packs of cotton pads, 1 toothpaste.

Clothing: I will be making some replenishing purchases for underwear and socks in the new year at Costco.   I will allow myself to buy 2 sets of thermal underwear (for commuting to work via bus).  There are 3 freebies I will allow myself.  A nice cross body bag.  A pair of casual runners.  A pair of flat knee high charcoal leather boots.   Each item must be less than $150 before tax.   Other than that, I’ve got everything I need so there is no need to shop*.

Electronics: I’m not a huge gadget fan, so I don’t have anything I need or want.  I’ve got a bar cell phone and my contract is up in July, 2011.  My phone will probably still work fine, though I’d like to negotiate a better plan.  I’m currently paying $40 a month right now for basic talk and text services – I would love to see that bill hit $20 to $30.

Note*: I give myself a little reward when I meet my budget each month because I like prizes :).  I give myself a certain amount to spend on anything I like.  Since this is a shopping ban, I’m going to make an exception that I can spend on thrifted items, only.  I haven’t ventured into many thrift stores, and now would be a great opportunity to start!

Have you ever done a shopping ban?  For how long?  What are some tips that you’d like to share, and how did/do you stay motivated?

Cheers,


16 Comments

Filed under Finance, Shopping Ban

16 responses to “Shopping Ban 2011

  1. My shopping ban is about to end at the end of 2010.

    I only let myself buy 3 things. I have one left over as a freebie but I may not use it.

    Lasting this long, for the whole year was hard.. and not hard. It is easy when the stores don’t have anything worth buying.

  2. Can’t wait to read about how this goes! I always think I “couldn’t do it”, but that seems like a cop out.

  3. FB – Your fashion ban was very inspiring! I know what you mean, by it’s easy to not buy things when stores don’t have anything worth buying. I felt that way a lot when I went into stores after starting my journey to minimalism. I usually got bored and went on to do something else.

    Valerie – You can do it! I think it’s important to take inventory of what you have and make sure you’ve got the essentials – i.e., work clothes and casuals, then just take the plunge. I think allowing yourself a few freebies also helps 🙂

  4. I have not done a shopping ban in the same way that you have yours laid out. However, I do limit myself to how much I can spend by using a zero based budget. Since I am paying on my debt, I make the extra payment at the beginning of the pay cycle. When all the money is gone it is gone, until the next payday.

    When I feel like I am spending to much I just cut back in the budget and put more towards the debt payment.

  5. Tanya

    Good luck. I am doing the same thing-shopping ban for 2011.

  6. Pingback: 2011 Shopping Ban | fabulously fru-girl

  7. Yes, when I was in my mid twenties, I had a lot of credit card debt, so I stopped buying…anything.for.one.year. Only necessities which were very narrowly defined (like milk or eggs). Now that I’m in my late thirties, I am debt free, and very comfortable. It is my (and my husband’s goal) to perpetually invest rather than consume, save, save, save, not waste anything (leftovers much?) and have a credit score in the 800s. I’m not sure how old you are, but I really give you a hats off to your efforts. I wish I had this kind of forethought in my early twenties. This financial discipline you’re taking is the best thing you can do for yourself and ultimately really satisfying. I really wish you the best of luck. I love your blog and its concept! Go girl!

  8. Broke by choice – That sounds like a good plan! GL to both of us! 🙂

    Tanya – Great! GL, I am anticipating this will be hard.

    Creature Gorgeous – Welcome! I love your blog! 🙂 I am in my mid twenties and I also hope to do the same as you. My goal is to live a simple life so I can live more.

  9. Pingback: January Recap | fabulously fru-girl

  10. Pingback: Shopping Ban: January Fail | fabulously fru-girl

  11. I have decided to do a shopping ban for Lent this year. The only exception will be my 13th daughter’s birthday. But she has asked for a mom date for her gift. So it will be an experience day for her, so although I will be spending money I will not be buying things. This is a good thing because we are also declutttering, as part of our spring cleaning.

  12. Pingback: February 2011 Recap | fabulously fru-girl

  13. Pingback: Shopping Ban: February Success! | fabulously fru-girl

  14. Pingback: March 2011 Recap | fabulously fru-girl

  15. Pingback: Shopping Ban: March Success… sorta | fabulously fru-girl

  16. Pingback: Shopping Ban: Half-way Update | fabulously fru-girl

Leave a Reply

