Review: Magic Bullet

Remember how I talked about getting a Magic Bullet in my March Budget?  I’ve actually been thinking about getting it since last November but I kept waiting for it to go on sale.  But since it seems to refuse to, I decided to just fork over the $39.99 + taxes for it.

Why I Wanted One

I am not a morning person.  I have to pack my lunch and my overnight bag (if needed), the night before, because in the mornings, I am a zombie.  Until I have my shower.  And after my shower, I’m out the door.

My breakfasts aren’t the greatest things in the world, is putting it lightly.  Usually it consist of toast and peanut butter.  Not very nutritious, and definitely not very filling.  I am usually hungry by before 11:00am.  I also don’t really eat enough fruits.  And like almost every other North American, I never feel like I have enough time in the morning.

So, I decided a Magic Bullet would be a great addition to my home. I imagined I would prepare my cut fruit and whatever mix is required in a smoothie the night before, and then in the morning after my shower, ZAP ZAP (10 seconds is all I need, right?), and my smoothie is ready.  I don’t need to wash a blender, just put on a lid and go.  (I do rinse the blade right after).

My Magic Bullets

In reality, my first Magic Bullet was defective.  It didn’t even cut a straw berry!!  And then the blade fell off!!  I was fuming.  I spent all that time, cleaning my cups and lids with a huge grin on my face and my Magic Bullet (MB)was a big fail.  The dramatic side of my wanted to bring the magic bullet – failed smoothie and all – back to the store demand a full refund.

The realistic side of me, poured out my unblended smoothie mixture in a cup, and rinsed the MB cup I used, and put everything back in the box.

I listened to my realistic side and exchanged my Magic Bullet – without yelling at anyone.  So, readers, please beware of the possibility of defective ones.  I read about one during my research, but I never thought it would happen to me.  Two of my friends have the Magic Bullet and have no complaints.

Conclusion

I haven’t tried making anything else but smoothies, so I can’t comment too much on anything else.  My new Magic Bullet works great.  It’s just as I imagined, and I have been having much more nutritious breakfasts this week.  I usually have about 2/3 of my smoothie for breakfast, and save the rest for an afternoon pick-me-up.

I highly recommend this Magic Bullet as a great time saver and smoothie maker.  It’s easy to use, easy to clean up, and very efficient.  You only dirty up one cup, and you can use the same cup to prep and drink out of.

Has anyone tried the Magic Bullet?  Any positive or negative experience my readers would like to share?

Cheers,


15 Comments

Filed under Review

15 responses to “Review: Magic Bullet

  1. Braelyn

    Also fabulous for making homemade guacamole!! :o) I won’t eat store bought guac now – too bland and plastic tasting! And why bother when it takes me all of two mins for prep + maketime.. :o)

  2. Frugal Forties

    I got one for Christmas one year and it sat in the box for a whole year while I alternately sneered and giggled at it. (Yes, I’m a bit of a snotty foodie and thought it couldn’t possibly compare to my favorite high-end blender. Plus my inner 12 year old still giggles when I say “magic bullet”.) I don’t know why one day I decided to try it out, but I did and I’ve been hooked ever since. I use it for TONS of stuff now and can’t imagine how I did w/out it. I want to order a 2nd 4-blade top since I use it often enough that the top is frequently in the dishwasher.

    I’m glad you persevered past the faulty one and are enjoying it! 🙂

  3. Friends of mine used theirs as a coffee grinder when their actual grinder gave out. They seem to enjoy it. It certainly seems sized better for one person than my big blender is.

  4. I had one years ago and would have been better off with a fork in a cup. These days i used a Braun (i think) stick blender. Brilliant and versatile.

  5. I don’t have the Magic Bullet and don’t think i’ll ever get it because i will probably still end up being lazy with making food.

    But what is even more sad is that i can see myself buying the baby bullet when i become a mother…

  6. Kim

    We found a Magic Bullet in the recycling room of our condo. A nice person left it in pristine condition with a note attached – free for the taker. I don’t know if I would’ve spent my own $ on it, but now that we have it, it’s really handy. The bf uses it to make personal-sized smoothies. I use it to make hummus (canned chick peas, zucchini, garlic, sesame oil), as well as froothe milk for home made coffee drinks (heat milk, blend for 45 sec with long blades, heat again).

    Sometimes I fear that the blades may come undone and fly through the cup when I’m making a recipe, and end up cutting me. I guess the whole mechanims feels a little less stable than say, a traditional blender. But my fear is probably unwarranted.

  7. I have my Mothers old blender, it’s 1o years old and still works fine, although I wouldn’t mind a magic bullet, until this one breaks down I won’t be buying one.

  8. Kayla

    Hmm I posted a comment on this from my iPad; looks like it didn’t go through.

    I’ve never used the Magic Bullet, but since I dread cooking (and by dread, I mean HATE), I can’t see myself using the Magic Bullet.

    ALTHOUGH, have you seen the Baby Bullet?! http://www.babybullet.com/

    Now that I want (for when I have kids of course) pretty badly. I can see myself using that. Isn’t that funny?

Leave a comment