February 2012 Budget and Goals

Image via

February Budget

Better late than never right?  Seeing that I already dropped $500 bucks this weekend.  Eeeeks!  Can I make it through the rest of February?

February Goals

  • Update my resume – I haven’t done this since I graduated. It is long overdue.
  • Prepare to file my income taxes – This includes making sure my RRSP contributions are topped up and printing out my charitable donation receipts.
  • Re-balance my Portfolio – I need to figure out my current asset allocation first, and then start buying some e-series fund to re-balance my portfolio.  Hopefully my TD e-series RSP is set up soon.
  • Make my shopping list– I need a section for home, clothes and make-up.  I really need to focus and differentiate what my reasonable wants and wish list items are.
  • No buying make-up– In particular, no more lipstick for me.  I do have 6 compacts I can trade into MAC for a free eyeshadow or lipstick.
  • Walk for 30 minutes, 3 days a week – I really need to start moving around and being more active.  This is a pretty painless way to start.  I really enjoy walks 🙂
  • Get my credit report – I’ve never checked my credit report or credit score.  I know, it’s bad.  But I’m going to do it this month.

On-going Goals

  • $0 Budget – Tally both expenses and savings at the end of the month then allocate the “extra” to something.
  • Eat Fruits – Incorperate more fruits in my diet.  At least once a day.
  • Bring my lunch to work – Not only does this save me money, it is also much healthier.
  • Offline by 9:30pm – 10:oopm – I need to spend time away from the computer and read/unwind/chill-out before I go to sleep.
  • Read 1 book a month – I started reading Jean Chretien’s “My Years as Prime Minister”.  I’m really enjoying it and BF and I sometimes read it together.

Readers, what do you have planned for February?

PS.  Have you joined in on the discussion on my post: Should I Buy Chanel?  I’d love to hear your opinion. 🙂

Cheers,

7 Comments

Filed under Goals

7 responses to “February 2012 Budget and Goals

  1. OMG I was about to write a blog post regarding Feather Factor’s reader about buying a Chanel. Funny you did it first! I almost did it around the holidays but didn’t have enough time haha, great minds think alike!

    Also I am enjoying bringing my lunch to work… eating out gets so old and tiring each day!!!

  2. Great goals. I also need to get offline by no later than 10 pm. Thanks for the credit check reminder.

  3. I’m also late for February goals! I think my first goal will be to get my goal post up by Friday…

    I can’t figure out how much I should put into my RRSP, and I’m waiting for my T4 to show up so I can get going on that. I like the idea of turning the internet off to chill out before bed and reading more!

    • I’ve been such a bad reader last year and I also read that the bright lights from our digital devices keep the brain stimulated (thinking it’s daylight) and makes it more difficult to go to sleep.

  4. Your offline goal is a REALLY good idea, I need to start doing something similar.

    I tagged you in a recent post: http://diggingoutandup.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/i-was-never-good-at-tag/

Leave a comment