Milan and Rome

I will do a more coherent summary post (with pictures) when I get back to Canada, but for now, I will just be writing little tid bits of thoughts.

We spent 3 days in Milan, and it was definitely the most metropolitan city in Italy. We didn’t do to much sight seeing, as the thought of yet another museum or art gallery or church, just didn’t really resonate with me. So instead, we shopped, people watched, and ate :).

I even rented a bike with my sister and we biked around a park and castle all afternoon, only stopping for gelato breaks, of course. That was the highlight of Milan for me, hands down.

I’ve been in Rome for about a week now, which is a bit too long for my liking. There is a tonne of sites to visit, but I don’t feel like I am really seeing the soul or core of Rome – if that makes any sense. I am also feeling a bit homesick, and a little “traveled out” for lack of a better phrase.

I still miss my bed (I’ve been staying in hostels to save on costs – Europe is so expensive!), my apartment, my city, and my day-to-day activities, such as cooking and blogging.

Luckily for me, BF will be joining me in Rome in 2 days, and I think that my home sickness will be much better.

I will leave you with a picture of the crowds at the Vatican Museum. So. Many. People.

20120605-110036.jpg

6 Comments

Filed under Travel

6 responses to “Milan and Rome

  1. B. (Below Her Means)

    I’ve been in that hallway! So beautiful.

  2. Omg that sounds amazing! I want to visit Italy so bad! πŸ™‚

  3. Bring me back some gelato? πŸ˜‰

  4. laura @ no more spending

    We got back fro Rome late last night – I really liked the city but understand exactly what you mean. It’s so busy and although the main sites are amazing, it’s like a people scrum to see everything.
    We went to the Vatican Museum yesterday and I felt like I was being herded like a sheep. Wouldn’t have missed it though, seeing the Sistine Chapel, visiting St Peters all worth it.

  5. People-watching and eating are two of the best things to do while in Rome! When I was there, I definitely slowed things down to enjoy the cafes, lifestyle, and people-watching as much as possible.

    Sounds like you’re having a great trip!!!

  6. Those are the cities I visited too when I was in Italy! Rome was my favorite. Enjoy the rest of your trip. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment