Mother’s Day

It’s Mother’s Day this weekend and I am going to share some stories/tidbits about my mom ūüôā

My mom is super mom

My mom was a stay at home mom for most of my childhood, and I realize now that I was very lucky in that sense.  Mom was always there to make sure I did my homework (both school homework and mom homework).

She always made dinners from scratch, and I have probably taste most Southeast Asian and Asians cuisines right from my mom’s kitchen.

My mom stayed home because I have two younger sisters.  My middle sister is 3 years younger than me and my youngest sister is 5 years younger than me.  It would have been too costly to pay for babysitting, and so my mom stayed home to raise us.

My ¬†mom didn’t stop there, she also babysat my cousins (2 of them), a family friend’s son and daughter, and also my best friend. ¬†That was the usual bunch, but on certain days of the week, there would be another addition to the Brady bunch.

She would take care of all the kids, and do all the housework (including cooking and cleaning), and make time to teach us Chinese lessons.

I have no idea how she did it.

Mrs. Frugalista

Even though my mom made a very modest income from her child care gig, my father brought in most of the household income through his full-time job. ¬†My dad worked a various factories doing manual labour, and his income was used for the day-to-day spending and running a household. ¬†My mom’s income was primarily used for saving.

I remember one time, I asked my mom, “So, mom, how many millions do you make in a year.” ¬†(I little, okay?) ¬†She laughed.

My mom is the best bargainista I know- like many Asians. I believe it’s in the genes. ¬†A price is merely a suggestion, when it comes to my mom. ¬†I remember being so embarrassed when I was little. ¬†We would be in Chinatown buying bra’s from the street vendor and my mom would be haggling for an additional $0.50 – $1.00 off each bra because we were buying ten.

My mom has the equivalent knowlege¬†of the Canadian price index for supermarkets and veggies. ¬†Eggplants for $0.69/lb – she’d be all over it because they are usually $1.99/lb. ¬†We’d be eating eggplants for the whole week, cooked different ways at that price ;).

Looking back, it’s because of the frugal habits of my mom and dad that my sisters and I are able to have the life that we do now. ¬†$1 here, $0.50 there turns into $100, and a few $100’s saved will eventually become $1,000, and so on.

Life Habits

I joke that if everyone shopped like my mom, our economy would be in trouble.  But the truth is, if we all shopped like my mom,  there would be a lot less waste in the world.

There would be a lot more time in the kitchen and spent with family.  There would be more relaxing and less rushing from one event to another.   There would be steamed birthday cakes made from scratch, and Vietnamese salad rolls with freshly washed veggies from the garden.

It’s always hard to get my mom a gift, because she never seems to want anything. ¬†Unlike myself, she does not get googly eyed over the latest gadgets or drool over fashion. ¬†She just likes having a family meal, at home – with everyone present.

I would be nowhere today with the constant love and support of my mom (and family), and for that, I am truly blessed and very grateful.

I hope everyone has a happy mother’s day!

Cheers,

1 Comment

Filed under Personal

One response to “Mother’s Day

  1. Kay

    Happy mother’s day to you and your mom as well! She sounds so lovely! ūüôā

Leave a Reply

