April Luxeries

April was not a cheap month. It was also my birthday month and I let myself enjoy a few items of luxeries.

Facials at Pure and Simple

I enjoyed my first facial after reading glowing reviews of this spa. I’ve suffered from acne most of my life, and my skin was acting up the last few months. You can read my full review here.

I got the pure complexion facial, and I bought a package of 5. This brought the price of each facial to $115, but also cost me $570 before taxes. Steep but worth it in my opinion.

Sidenote:  For those of you in the Toronto area and would like to try out Pure and Simple.  They have a special the month of May for the Clear Complexion Facial.  It’s $149 $99.  I think it’s a great deal and highly recommend it if it’s in your budget.

The Lion King Musical

I LOVE musicals and my sister scored cheap(er) tickets. We paid $85 each for CC orchestra seats. Not the best seats in the world, but not too bad.

It was an amazing musical! The costumes, props, dancing, and singing was breath taking.  I highly recommend it. It’s one of the best musical I have seen, so far!

Staycation

BF and went on our vacation turned staycation this month. I spent the equivalent of my monthly eating out budget in one weekend, but that’s ok. 🙂

It was worth it.

Car insurance

I wrote in some previous posts about the cost for me to own a car and my thoughts of going car free thus far. An opportunity came up and my parents offered to let me use their car.

I will write another post on this, but since I now knew the costs of car ownership, I wanted to show my appreciation by paying for all insurance costs ( including my parents’ portion), this year.

Summary

I’m hoping that next month will be more low key as BF and I have plans to go on a two week vacation somewhere in June. 🙂 Will share details as soon as we make some decisions regarding that.

How was April for you?  What are some luxury items or splurges that make your life better and are worth it to you?

Cheers,


8 Comments

Filed under Personal

8 responses to “April Luxeries

  1. This is going to sound totally lame, but splurging my money to take the GO train was a luxury I don’t regret! I don’t feel stressed going to or leaving work, but when I hop the TTC now, it feels like death 😦

    http://twodegreesofunemployment.blogspot.com/2011/03/considering-costly-commute-carefully.html

  2. Cheese. We spent $40 on local artisan cheeses (so much cheaper than if we’d bought equivalents at the supermarket) and it WAS WORTH IT!

  3. My luxury was paying off my credit card, best spoil in the world!

  4. I’m not a big fan of musicals, but LOVE The Lion King. I’ve seen it twice and am excited about seeing it again in the next few weeks.

    As for April splurges, like savingfortravel, I ‘splurged’ on paying off one of my credit cards and more than halfing the other.

    Since I’m on a tight budget these days, I can no longer afford facials 😦 but I refuse to give up manicures and although I don’t get them as often as I used to, I still go once or twice a month. They definitely make my life better 🙂

  5. April was my birthday month and also a close friend’s b-day month. My gift was actually tickets to go see the Lion King (I’ll be seeing in late May). I bought a Burberry for the friend (~$395US), so that was where most of the spending went.

  6. My favourite luxury items are loose leaf tea and cheese. We have a local cheese factory and I love the quality, local stuff waaaay more than the cheap stuff.

  7. Pingback: A Free Car Costs me $2,900+ | fabulously fru-girl

  8. Pingback: April & May 2011 Recap | fabulously fru-girl

Leave a Reply

