Stay-cation Recap

(Photo source)

You may remember in my budget for March and April, I set aside $300 for a mini-vacation for BF and I.  Well, we finally got around to taking that vacation a few weekends back.  At the last minute, we turned it into a staycation, and we couldn’t have been happier :).

A Sneak Peak at What we did

The weekend we stayed in the City was beautiful.  Warm, and sunny.  Just like how spring should be!  We spread out some blankets on his amazing deck, soaked in the sun and drank some beer.  I also attempted the newspaper’s crossword and Sodoku (my latest obsession).  It was the perfect mini picnic.

Food

We had the perfect pizza at a little Italian pizzeria in Little Italy.  If you’re ever in the City, please check out this Cafe/Pizzeria.  The food was simple and yummy.  It’s not fancy, but being inside made me feel like I was in a little cafe in Europe.

We discovered a new breakfast place in the Market.  This lovely crepe place had delicious crepe and coffee.  It was perfect for a rainy day.  Then, we curled up on the couch and watched way too much television.  We also made some delicious sandwiches – avocado and jelapeno Havarti, anyone?

On Monday, our last day, we went for a walk and practiced some volleyball at the park.  It felt so weird to be out and about when “everyone” was working.  It reminded me of this post from Millionaire Mommy Next Door, of when Jen and her husband discovered they were millionaires, and they took a walk in the park while all their neighbors were working.

Then, BF and I ended off our staycation with a wonderful meal at our favourite Thai restaurant.  Of course, I had to snap a few pictures to capture the moment.

Spending Recap

BF and I usually take turns paying, so this is just my portion of it.  I think we split things pretty 50/50.  I spent $131 that weekend on food.

Thoughts

This staycation worked well for us, because BF and I were able to spend time doing stuff with each other instead of driving a few hours each way.  We also spent our money on food, food and more food, instead of accommodation, rental car, gas and food.  I would still like to take a cabin adventure vacation, one day, but this staycation was pretty fun and more budget friendly. 🙂

Have you done a staycation before?  What did you end up doing? 

Cheers,


7 Comments

Filed under Travel

7 responses to “Stay-cation Recap

  1. I love staycations! We’re pretty much homebodies and would rather stay home than go anywhere. Last one we did a few months ago, we watched CSI, Law & Order and NCIS all weekend, and went out for great sushi both nights, which we justified because we didn’t have to buy expensive airplane tickets and hotels.

  2. Ann

    My BF just had a staycation and I was so jealous. I need to do one of those sometime soon.

    And your food looks AMAZING.

  3. I have never had a staycation. I have a friend that is planning one for August and it looks fun. I might do the same thing but maybe over Christmas break. Except it will be cold. Very cold.

  4. My life is a giant staycation! I often snatch the MAP passes from the TPL and use my weekends to go to all the museums and the galleries in the city. Check out the Power Plant by Harbourfront if you haven’t been already – it’s free in the summer. The Inuit Gallery there is also worth the $5 entry (RBC occasionally sponsors free weekends).

    I finally visited Khao San Road restaurant last weekend as well. And having gone to the real Khao San Road in Bangkok, I can vouch for the pad thai in Toronto – this is the only place they know how to do it right!

    BTW, the sandwiches look awesome 🙂

  5. I love staycations! My staycations usually consist of lots of kayaking locally and reading on the deck. It’s like heaven. Man, I wish I had some vacation time booked off now.

  6. That sounds like so much fun! I need to think about doing something like that. A staycation would be so much fun in Vancouver..

  7. Pingback: April Luxeries | fabulously fru-girl

Leave a Reply

