Shopping Ban: March Success… sorta

This year, I decided to embark on a self-imposed shopping ban.  You can read more details about it here, and hereand my January update here.  To sum it up, no shopping for clothes, jewelry and make-up for a whole year.  I am allowed 3 exceptions, including a pair of black boots, an iTouch, and a winter jacket.  This challenge is to help me shop my own closet, and be more creative with making items, and re-using items.  I am also allowed to shop at thrift stores with my “reward” money ($25) for staying within my $1,000 monthly budget.  This is my monthly update.

Ladies, this was a sort-of-success!  I stayed away from malls – except to get my co-worker a gift where I almost fell prey to temptation.

I also bought a dutch oven pot (I’ve always wanted one!  And it was on sale $99.99 $34.99), and some organizing boxes for my room, closet and cupboard.  I felt like this was kinda cheating, especially when my sister called me out on it, “Frugirl, who is the one on a shopping ban??”

I’ve also compiled a list of shopping banners, to keep one another motivated.  I’ll link to them in this post, and if you’d like, send me your updates and I can link there here, as well!

And Rosie from Financially Fabulous just completed self-imposed shopping ban!  Good for her! 🙂

Please let me know if I’ve missed anyone, or if you’d like to be added to the list!  Just send me an e-mail or leave a comment.

Cheers,

10 Comments

Filed under Shopping Ban

10 responses to “Shopping Ban: March Success… sorta

  1. Krystal is another!!! 🙂 From Give me back my five bucks.

  2. So far so good for me! No clothes buying as yet, although I have been looking….;)

  3. Hey Miss Frugirl,
    Thanks for the shout-out. I’m so glad to have made it the 40 days – it was easier than I thought and the absence of clothes/shoes/accessories shopping allowed me to put away $400 towards my Vacation Fund last month. That being said, I think I will need to hit WINNERS. With all my tria-athalon training this past winter, I’ve lost almost 10 lbs and I really do need some new pieces!
    *Rosie*

    • Congrats, again, Rosie. That is awesome.

      I remember when I first hit my goal of no-shopping for a month. It was exhilarating 🙂

      And congrats on your weight loss and tri-athalon! That’s amazing news!

  4. Ann

    I like your plan to give yourself thrift store reward money for staying within your budget. I’m going thrift store shopping this weekend and I think I’ll stick to a similar budget ($25)

  5. While I don’t have a shopping BAN, I set a $300 budget for the year. I’ve never done it before and I want to challenge myself to be successful! The only problem is when I’m at Winners, I’m practically gnashing my teeth … keeping my hands in my pocket and trying not to try anything on!

    • Wow! A $300 clothing budget is really slim (for me, that would be a shopping ban in itself, as well!) 😉

      Yea, I have to stay away from malls and other places with great deals (read: Winners or Marshalls). I’m afraid I just don’t have the will power to say no.

Leave a Reply

