March Spending Recap (Beta)

(source)

I’ve been being very good with tracking my expenses in my handy dandy FB spreadsheet.  But seeing the spending re-caps of so many bloggers has inspired me to try it out.  So, I started putting all my expenses in my Google Calender on a day-by-day basis too see how many “No Spend” days I could score.  (Click on the picture to enlarge.)

No Spend Days

Just over halfway through this month, and I  only have 2 “No Spend” days!!  Yikes.  It’s a little disappointing because I don’t consider myself a “big spender”.

I did not try to group my purchases, to make this experience more “real”.  From this experience, I realize I spend money almost every day.

My Comments

This month has also been a very expensive eventful month.  I went to visit my sister for a weekend trip in Hamilton and we did hot yoga and went out for dinner.  I have also visited the spa twice for massages, supported my friend’s aspiration for the CN Tower stair climb benefiting the United Way, donated to the crisis in Japan, visited my dermatologist and refilled my prescriptions, gifts and outings for a co-worker going on maternity leave, renewed my lottery pool for the year, and my usual weakness for eating out.  So, in short – life happened.

If you saw the 😦 face on March 8th, it’s because that was a last minute dinner – which is the type of eating out I try to avoid. The annoying thing was that I had food (a sandwiche), but my co-worker wanted to stop for pub food (which I loathe!), before our volleyball game, so I obliged.  Then, after the game, my team went out for drinks.  These things add up!

Anyway, I will update this at the end of the month and see how many “No Spend” days I end up with.  I still haven’t spent any money on clothes, accessories or make-up (except refilling my MAC blotting powder).

Do you track your No Spend Days?  How many days a month do you think you don’t spend any money?

Cheers,


9 Comments

Filed under Budget, Random

9 responses to “March Spending Recap (Beta)

  1. I can confidently say that there are no days that I don’t spend. I don’t know. I feel like in NYC, if you breathe, you spend about 10 bux. Maybe if I invested a bit of energy, I could actually not spend anything…

  2. No Spend days depress me.

    I’d rather look at the big picture… but I’m glad to hear the budgeting spreadsheet is working out for you! 🙂

    • Thanks so much, FB. It is awesome, and I use it regularly, and I love comparing my pretty charts! 🙂

      I like the big picture, as well. I think it depicts a more accurate picture of my spending habits.

  3. I think I might try this! Although the only days where I don’t spend anything will probably end up being Sundays and the odd weekday if I stay at home. If I’m out I usually end up buying food.

    • I usually always spend money on weekends. It’s the weekdays that I can sneak in no spending because I usually go from home to work and then straight home.

      Like Investing Newbie says, “I breath, and I spend $10.”

  4. Great idea using google to track your expenses on a calender! It’s a great way to visual your finances instead of just seeing them as rows and columns in a spreadsheet. I might try this and see if I can suss out any patterns in spending.

    • Thanks!

      I got the idea as I was debating getting a smart phone so I can do real-time updates on my spending, and since I’m in front of a computer a lot of the time, this was pretty close to real time :).

      So far, the only pattern I have is, weekday+not doing anything = no spending.

  5. Pingback: March 2011 Recap | fabulously fru-girl

Leave a Reply

