Shopping Ban: February Success!

This year, I decided to embark on a self-imposed shopping ban.  You can read more details about it here, and here and my January update here.  To sum it up, no shopping for clothes, jewelry and make-up for a whole year.  I am allowed 3 exceptions, including a pair of black boots, an iTouch, and a winter jacket.  This challenge is to help me shop my own closet, and be more creative with making items, and re-using items.  I am also allowed to shop at thrift stores with my “reward” money ($25) for staying within my $1,000 monthly budget.  This is my monthly update.

Ladies, this was a success!  I am so glad that February was a short month, having this month under my belt is giving me a lot of confidence.  I stayed away from malls – except to exchange a pair of running shoes I got during Christmas (which kinda felt like shopping, but without spending money.  I hope that’s not cheating.)

I also stayed under my $1,000 monthly budget in February, and so I get rewarded with $25 to spend at a thrift shop.  I haven’t been, yet.  But I’m really excited about it :).  Does anyone have recommendation for thrift shops in the Toronto area?

I’ve also compiled a list of shopping banners, to keep one another motivated.  I’ll link to them in this post, and if you’d like, send me your updates and I can link there here, as well!

Please let me know if I’ve missed anyone, or if you’d like to be added to the list!  Just send me an e-mail or leave a comment.

Pep talk:  Ladies, we can do this!  March is a great time to start re-mixing some of our favourite winter clothes, since it will be a whole two (or three) seasons until we see them again.  It’s also never too early to start thinking about how we can re-mix winter and summer clothes for some creative spring outfits!  We can do it 😉

Cheers,

14 Comments

Filed under Shopping Ban

14 responses to “Shopping Ban: February Success!

  1. Frugal Forties

    Congrats on making it thru Feb!

    I think this is one of the better variations of the “no spend” challenge I’ve seen. It’s a truly focused goal and not a scatter-shot “no spend” on anything (which IMO is simply impossible to maintain or even properly track). I do like the idea of a moratorium on clothing/accessories/makeup. At this point, since I’m still losing weight I couldn’t completely avoid buying new clothing (unless I want my pants to fall off at work!), and I rarely wear jewelry, but I do tend to spend far too much money on things like lip gloss and lip balm (I must have 10 tubes of Bert’s Bees around here), nail polish, mascara, and other little sundry items.

    Hmmm … something to think about for the future. 🙂

    • I debated the “no spend” challenge, but realized that it would just be unrealistic for me with way too many exceptions. I really like rules – and it took me almost a year to come up with this one, while testing out and alternating “no spend” months without documenting it.

      I’m glad you like my idea :), let me know if you hop on board.

  2. Hi and thanks for the shout out!
    Well done in February, staying away from the shops really helps me too 🙂
    I plan on buying boots and a new pair of jeans if, and only if, I lose some more weight! I also have a voucher that I plan on using for 2 new t’s.

    We can do this!

  3. Well done! As I struggled to find my go-to brown eye shadow this morning, I realized that I have waaaay too much make up. I don’t know how I accumulated it all, so I think your ban on buying make-up is absolutely fabulous. I’m also super impressed that you’re doing this for a whole year! I think I may try this on a monthly basis and see how I do.

    • I have been steadily getting rid of my make-up which I don’t use. I’m not even sure why I had so much – I don’t even wear that much!

      I hope I can do it for a whole year. That’s the plan 😉

  4. Ann

    Thanks for the shout-out, and the links to the other blogs… which I must go check out ASAP! It’s great to know there are others out there struggling with the same things I am.

    I’m just three months into my shopping detox (which includes a ban on new clothes and makeup that I already own) and am already seeing a difference in my finances and with my knowledge of what I already own. I used to compulsively buy lip balms, and am excited to have almost used up a tube! I don’t remember ever using up a whole lip balm before, I’d always just buy more and build up a collection.

    • Same here. I am definitely more aware of what I have, and how much I spend (or not spend) on make-up and clothes when I put on the freeze. Way more efficient for me, and more friendly on the wallet.

  5. Congratulations! Just make sure you remember this feeling next time you feel like spending!

  6. Congrats! I don’t think I could do a whole year without shopping, but I occasionally do a month shopping ban. Those little bans have really helped me to assess whether or not I *really* do need something when I actually go to buy. Glad your ban is going well!

  7. pennysbasket

    Boy am I glad I found your blog. Just today (yes today) I decided not to shop for one year. Now I found you. Let’s support each either! I am a shopaholic who is trying to pay off debt. Good Luck to you! and me! 🙂

  8. Anon

    Didn’t realise you were based in TO.

    Check out grunge-queen.blogspot.com for reviews on thrift stores around TO area. I found a couple of good stores based on her reviews.

Leave a Reply

