Daily Archives: January 10, 2011

2010 Goals Recap

It was super inspiring to read all the new year resolutions from my favourite bloggers.  What I found even more inspiring than the new year resolutions was a review of 2010 resolutions.

I can’t begin to count the number of years which I have made new years resolutions.  Too many.  However, I have never reviewed my previous year’s goals and reflected on how I performed.  In fact, I probably lost the sheet long before the year was over.  Until this year.  I found my list of 2010 goals.

Let’s see how I did, and how I can improve myself and set better goals for 2011.

Professional

Be promoted to the next position and gain more experience in the field. Check! I was promoted in April and got an 18% raise to boot.

Explore different venues of income streams.  Fail! Still just my day job.  I hope to explore the perks of dividend income in 2011.

Take the Canadian Securities Course.  Fail! Will put this on my 2011 goals.

Take a continuing education course in a Masters program I may pursue in the near future.  Fail! However, I did audit one class.  Unfortunately all the courses were offered only during the day which I cannot attend.  Boo.

Charity

Volunteer for a community program mentoring kids in my neighborhood.  Check! I volunteered with the Big Brothers and Big Sister in my neighborhood from January to September when my Little Sister moved 2 hours away.

Food & Health

Incorporate more fresh vegetables and fruits into my daily meals.  Half check! I need to incorporate more fruits in 2011.

Make myself more aware of the things I am putting in my body.  Half check! I cook most of my own food; however, I’d like to be more aware of chemicals such as pesticides and getting locally grown food.

Minimize the chemical products I use on a daily basis. Check! I’ve switched my shampoo and conditioner to no SLS or parabens.  I’ve also started replacing my moisturizer and conditioner to Jojoba Oil.

Clothing

Minimal clothing budget for this year.  Check! I spent just over $1,000, but I spent them on quality items that I will use for years to come.  A classic trench jacket.  A down jacket.  Amongst others.  This is a big improvement from how I used to buy clothes.

Personal Finance

Track my spending every month. Fail! I only tracked for January, October, November and December.

Stick to a monthly budget of $1000.  Fail! It’s hard to stick to a budget when I am not tracking my expenses.

Save 50% of my take home income. Check! I saved 53% of my take home pay this year!

Family & Friends

Go out for dinner or brunch with friends.  Check! I still need to work on this, but I am meeting up with friends for spa dates, dinners and just plain old hanging out.

Visit my parents two weekends a month.  Half check! I am seeing them more, but during the busy times, I let it slip.  Must work on this in the new year, as well.

Non-goal Achievements

These are things that I achieved even though I didn’t set them out as goals at the beginning of 2010.

Health:

One of my proudest moments this year was running my first half marathon in May.  Even though it wasn’t a resolution, I wanted to prove to myself that I could train for it, and complete it.  I was not very athletic growing up, so I definitely pushed myself physically harder than I ever have in my entire life.  It was a great experience.  Though I probably wouldn’t do it again, running for 20km is not really my thing. :)

Personal Finance:

I increased my net worth by 91% this year.  I started off 2010 with a net worth of $32,500 and ended 2010 with $62,065 to my name.  Not quite doubling my net worth, but pretty darn good, if I say so myself.

Minimalism:

I became very interested in this topic and read a lot of blogs on this topic.  I liked how the simplicity of it, and really wanted to enjoy my life more by focusing on what really made me happy and letting go of the rest.  It also helped me to focus on where and how I want to be spending my money.

Summary:

I think I did OK on my goals.  Now, I know what my strengths are and I want to work on next year.

I like Young and Thrifty’s acronym for goals. S-M-A-R-T.  Specific.  Measurable.  Attainable.  Realistic.  Timely.  I will definitely keep these guidelines in mind as I come up with my goals for 2011.   Stay tuned!

How did you do with your 2010 goals?  How are they influencing your 2011 goals?

Cheers,

Photograph source: http://learnthat.com

13 Comments

Filed under Goals, Personal