Frugal Dinner: Roasted Chicken & Sautè Carrots

(Photograph source)

One of my big time and money saving tips for food is batch cooking ahead of time.  I usually cook a big, huge meal once a week for the rest of the weekdays.   Then I package them in tupperware (freeze the extra’s, if any), and eat the portions through out the week for lunch and dinners.  This works if you don’t mind eating the same thing the entire week.  If not, then try freezing some portions for next time.

This week’s dinner is roasted chicken with saute carrots and onions.

The supermarket had chicken on sale this week.  $1.49/lb, and so I bought 2 chickens and they are roasting in the oven as I type.

Total cost for ingredients $10.08
Number of servings: 10 (ish)
Cost per serving: $1.08

The roasted chicken recipe is pretty basic, so I just improvised.  Though I did over cook my chicken, so I suggest you adjust accordingly.

Roasted Chicken Recipe

    • 1lb whole chicken
    • 1 medium onion (sliced in half)
    • 1 handful of dried herbs (I used Herbs en Provence)
    • Olive oil drizzled to coat
    • Salt and pepper
  1. Pre-heat oven to 450F.
  2. Rinse out chicken and pat skin dry – this ensures a nice crispy skin (my favourite).
  3. Stuff onion halves in chicken.  Season with herbs, salt and pepper.
  4. Insert chicken into oven at 450F for about 10 minutes.  Reduce heat to 375F.
  5. Cook for 30 – 45 minutes.

Note: I suggest using a meat thermometer to check for “done-ness”, though I don’t have one at the moment.

The inspiration for the carrot recipe is from one of my favourite food bloggers, Orangette.  As mentioned in my last Frugal Dinner Post, I don’t follow recipes, well.  So here is my version.

Carrot and Onions Saute Recipe

    • 1 lb of carrots peeled and sliced (on a diagonal)
    • 2 medium onions (halved and sliced from root to stem)
    • 3 cloves of garlic (coarsely chopped)
    • 1 tsp Balsamic Vinegar
    • Olive oil
    • Herbs en Provence
    • Salt and Pepper
  1. Set your skillet on medium heat.  Coat the bottom of your pan with olive oil.
  2. Add onions and cook until soft, but not browned.
  3. Add garlic and carrots.
  4. Add more olive oil if carrots seem dry.
  5. Season with herbs, salt and pepper.
  6. Adjust heat to medium low, if too high.
  7. Cover and cook until carrots are soft.
  8. Turn off heat, and add balsamic vinegar.
  9. Mix.  Serve.

Do you like to improvise when you cook?  What’s your favourite improvised recipe?

Cheers,

2 Comments

Filed under Frugal Dinners

2 responses to “Frugal Dinner: Roasted Chicken & Sautè Carrots

  1. Pingback: December Recap | fabulously fru-girl

  2. Pingback: Frugal Dinners: Last Minute Noodles | fabulously fru-girl

Leave a Reply

