December Recap

… and can I please have another shot at my first post of 2011?

Like many bloggers, I took a mini-sabbatical during the holiday season as I stuffed my face with yummy food and slept 10 hours a night in between seeing family and friends.  However, unlike all the fabulously cool cats* out there who wrote about goals and annual recaps, and recaps of annual goals, I started off 2011 with a post on roasting a chicken.  Roasting. A. Chicken.

Palm-to-forehead.

Yes, it was scheduled.  Yes, I thought I was smart to schedule a post and buy myself some time, just in case.  No, I completely forgot what I scheduled until my post showed up on my Google Reader.  Now I feel like I was caught red-handed re-gifting a post!

Doh!

Anyway, onto my spending re-cap.  I hope to redeem myself.  If possible.

Income: $6,119.00

Spending: $2,173.99

Nowhere close to my $1,000 monthly budget.  Oh, December, let’s see why.

Here’s where the money went:

Clothes: I budgeted for new casual runners.  Also, once I gave up on coat shopping, I found one.  I haven’t decided I would keep the jacket yet, even though it’s a great price for a long down jacket (retail $275 marked down to $132+tax).

Travel: BF and I decided to enjoy a bit of time away together before the craziness of the holidays.  We took a mini vacation to Niagara Falls and enjoyed some spa, steak and time alone.

Gifts: I don’t usually exchange gifts with friends and family, though I did get BF a little something.  I also gave my little sister money for her travels abroad.

Misc: I bought the business e-books from the recent big sale.  Still haven’t gotten around to reading them, yet.

Here is my net worth:

Summary:

Overall, I am very pleased with this month’s outcome.  I definitely spent more than anticipated, but I spent with a purpose and I’m proud to say that.

My goal was to have a net worth of $60,000 by the end of the year, and I was aiming more at $63,000 since I saw my last networth update.  I really didn’t want to count that VISA bill (which had about $300 of expenses that were reimbursed)!  Oh well. 🙂

Note*: Cool cats = personal finance, minimalism and fashion bloggers.  Please see Blog Roll on the right for my favourites!

How was your spending in December?  Did you meet your budget and goals?

Cheers,

11 Comments

Filed under Budget, Finance, Net Worth

11 responses to “December Recap

  1. Girl, you’re tearing it up! I think you did a great job in December, even though you were disappointed you didn’t mean your $1,000 goal. I would not be able to live on $1,000 either. Sigh.

  2. Congrats on the +£60k Net Worth. It’s my goal to be a cool cat and do a full budget recap this year, I just have to keep that spending diary update. Daily!!

    🙂

  3. Honestly I just figured you wanted to dive right in to 2011 and that’s why you started us off which a post on how to save money by roasting chicken at home!

  4. You cleared those cards right? 🙂 So it’s really more $0 at the end?? Or am I missing something

  5. haha i love the analogy to getting caught re-gifting a gid gift, thats so hilarious! u did great for the month and everyone always deserves some r&r. if u can put that much intoi yoyr other goals thats awesome!!!

  6. When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a remark is added I get 4 emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can take away me from that service? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

