A Season to Give

(Photograph Source)

As most of us prepare for the coming holidays, I’m sure many of us are juggling work, family, friends, preparing for the holidays, Christmas shopping, New Year’s Eve plans, etc.  Sometimes, the Holidays can be overwhelming and we may even forget why we do what we do.

I am not a religious person, but I do believe in giving to others less fortunate than ourselves.

Even though some of us are struggling with our own problems, whether it be with our personal finance or just personal, let’s not forget to be thankful for everything we do have.

For me, I am thankful that I have a wonderful family.  My parents didn’t have much when they first came to Canada more than 30 years ago, but they always found a way to make it work for us.  We always had good healthy food, warm clothes to wear, and the company and love of one another.  Nothing fancy, but it’s all we needed.  The greatest gift my parents gave me was a humble beginning.

This holiday season, please don’t forget about those who are less fortunate than we are.  Find a charity that you believe in and feel comfortable giving t0.

If you don’t know what to give to, may I suggest giving to an organization that helps victims affected by Pakistan’s Flood.  Over 20 million people are affected. Men, Women, and children are dying every day due to lack of shelter, no clean water and diseases carried by insects, etc.  Three foundations that have sent help over are Unicef, the Red Cross and the UN Foundation.  Every little bit counts.

Wishing all my readers a safe and happy time.

Cheers,

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

