Frugal Dinners: Spinach Lasagna with Potato & Leek Soup

One of my big time and money saving tips for food is batch cooking ahead of time.

I usually cook a big, huge meal once a week for the rest of the weekdays.   Then I package them in tupperware (freeze the extra’s, if any), and eat the portions through out the week for lunch and dinners.  This works if you don’t mind eating the same thing the entire week.  If not, then try freezing some portions for next time.

Tip: I highly recommend packaging the portions individually, as opposed to scooping out what you eat from a big dish.  The reason for this is because you can portion the servings.  I find that when scoop out left overs from a big dish for dinner, I usually take too much and end up either over eating or wasting food.  Not to mention it’s way easier in the morning to just grab and go.

This week, I made Spinach Lasagna and Potato & Leek Soup.

Total cost for ingredients: $22.35
Number of servings: 10
Cost per serving: $2.24

I adopted a recipe from Plant Organic Cook book for the Spinach Lasagna but I never really follow recipes (which explains why I suck at baking!).  Feel free to use this as a guide and substitute to your heart’s content.

Spinach Lasagna Recipe

    • 2- 200g packages of chopped frozen spinach
    • 2 lb fresh white button mushrooms sliced
    • 1 medium onion chopped
    • 2 cloves of garlic chopped
    • 2 cups of ricotta cheese
    • 2 cups of mozzarella cheese
    • 1 cup of Parmesan cheese
    • 2 cups of marinara sauce (or pasta sauce)
    • Lasagna pasta sheet
    • 2 tbsp of olive oil
    • salt and pepper to taste
    • Left over chicken (Optional)
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350F.  Cook lasagna sheets.  Thaw and drain frozen spinach.  Mix mozzarella cheese with Parmesan.
  2. Saute garlic, onions and mushrooms with olive oil until mushrooms are soft.  Season with salt and pepper.  Cool.
  3. Mix spinach, chicken and ricotta cheese into mushroom.  Salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Divide marinara sauce into 4 portions (roughly) and reserve 1 portion. Divide mozzarella cheese into 3 portions and reserve 1 portion.  Set reserved portions aside.
  5. Make 2 layers of the lasagna.  1 portion of marina sauce, 1 layer of lasagna sheets, mushroom & spinach mixture, 1 portion of mozzarella, press down firmly and repeat.  For the last layer, add 1 portion of marina sauce, 1 layer of lasagna sheets, reserved marinara sauce and reserved mozzarella cheese.
  6. Cover with aluminum sheet and bake for 40 minutes.  Then uncover and bake until cheese is golden brown.  Cool.  Eat.

I love soups in the cold weather and I had a craving for Leeks.  Below is an original Fru-girl recipe:

Potato & Leek Soup

    • 2 leeks rinsed and chopped
    • 2 medium onions chopped
    • 2 large potatoes chopped
    • 2 medium carrots chopped
    • 6 – 8 cups of water or stock
    • Bread
    • 2 tbsp olive oil
    • salt and pepper
    • Dried seasonings
  1. Saute onion until soft, set aside.
  2. Bring water or stock to a boil.  Add carrots and potatoes.  Cook for 15 – 20 minutes or until carrots are fork tender.
  3. Add leeks, onions and chicken.  Season with salt and pepper.  I also like adding in dried spices, I used herbs en provence but you can use whatever you have onhand.
  4. Bring to a boil and simmer on low heat for about 10 – 15 minutes.
  5. Serve with crunchy bread or baguette.

What are you having this week for lunch & dinner?

Cheers,


3 Comments

Filed under Frugal Dinners

3 responses to “Frugal Dinners: Spinach Lasagna with Potato & Leek Soup

  1. Lemon biscotti, I’m baking sugar and lemon zest cookies, and cold vegetarian Korean noodles. I’ve been craving ramen all week but I can’t eat that powdered MSG stuff any more (I get sick) so I’ve switched to making my own ramen.

  2. Lemon biscotti! Sounds super yummy 🙂

    Yea, packaged ramen noodles are full of salt and MSG. That’s probably why they taste so good, right? I need to start making my own, as well. I usually have ramen noodle noodles once every week or two. I also really like Udon noodles with some broth, veggies and an egg.

  3. Pingback: Frugal Dinners: Last Minute Noodles | fabulously fru-girl

Leave a Reply

