November Recap

November was a good month!

Income: $3,518.92

Spending: $1,036.67

Getting really close to reaching that monthly budget of $1,000 – even with a little bit of extra spending :)!

Here’s where the money went:

I had budgeted to buy a new wool winter jacket, since I’ve had mine for 5 years and was looking to upgrade.  Alas, it wasn’t meant to be and I have given up on jacket shopping.  I may add that item as a freebie during my shopping ban.

Nothing too crazy this month.  BF and I started to use more coupons/groupons when eating out in addition to eating out less.

Under Misc items, I bought a stainless steel skillet and pot since mine are from my university days and are rusty.  I also bought the Toronto Entertainment Book so that BF and I can still do fun things on a tighter budget.  Will review the Entertainment Book once I get a chance to use it!

Here is my net worth:

Summary:

Overall, I am very pleased with this month’s outcome.  I admit that I have fallen off the bandwagon of tracking my spending a few times this year, but the important thing was that I brushed myself and got right back on.  I’ve also made some mistakes that I’d like to share (another post).

I’ve been a little obsessive with  my net worth calculations.  It’s just so encouraging seeing those numbers go up and up.  My goal was to have a net worth of $60,000 by the end of the year, and I’m thinking that I may even surpass that goal.  Time to put together that December budget.  December budgets are always tricky.

How was your spending in November?  Are you ontrack to your goals?

Cheers,

7 Comments

Filed under Budget, Finance, Net Worth

7 responses to “November Recap

  1. You did freaking awesome!! :)

    Curious, why $1000 a month? :) I chose $1000 just because it seems to be the right amount with rent + food + stuff for me. I always wonder why other people choose their amounts though.

  2. Thanks, FB!

    Good question! I will do later post about that. But in a nutshell, I worked backwards from a savings goal, added up all my bare bones cost of living, and put in a little wiggle room for fun (i.e., entertainment and eating out).

  3. I am new to your blog, and I absolutely love it! I just added you to my blogroll. I have been PF blogging for about a year and am nowhere near as good at managing my expenditures as you are. I look forward to learning from you!

  4. omg! Your rent/mortgage is so cheap!!

    I could live on $1000, but it wouldn’t include any spending money =( I’m jealous of your frugal savvy, it makes me feel guilty about my spending HAHA

  5. Life as a Purse – Welcome! This has a been a good month for me, I’ve had many bad months, as well.

    HiThatsMyBike – Yep! It’s actually rent. No mortgage for me, yet. I live in a basement apartment on the outskirts of the city, and I have a room mate, so that’s as why :)

  6. Pingback: My $1,000 Budget | fabulously fru-girl

  7. Seems like you got a full handle of things, you are right around your goals.

    This is my first time on your blog and I am hooked.

    WMJ
    info@workingmomjournal.com

Leave a Reply

