Painting

(Image via)

My sister and I spent the Civic Holiday Long weekend painting our apartment.  Our apartment is only about 750 square feet, but we painted our entire apartment, including the kitchen/living area and both our bedrooms.  Needless to say, it was a lot of work, but worth it.  I love the way the walls look now, and it feels so much more like our home.

Lessons Learned

Painting isn’t difficult but it’s hard work.  There’s a bit of thinking ahead, a lot of preparation, and a lot of elbow grease.  After our painting fiasco, I’d be open to doing some part-time painting to earn some extra income :)

Even in painting our little apartment, I’ve learned some important lessons and thought I’d shared them here, in case any of you are interested.

Preparation

  • Clean your walls with TSP or alcohol, especially in an area where grease and dirt can build up (i.e., kitchen)
  • Prime your walls even when using Primer + Paint 2-in-1 (Note: a cheap primer and 1 coat of 2-in-1 is cheaper than 2 coats of 2-in-1)
  • Choose a wall colour which will complement the tone of your floors (i.e., warm or cool tone)
  • Make sure the previous coat of paint has dried before applying another coat
  • Soak your paint brushes in Varsol so they stay soft, then rinse paint and dry before next use
  • Tray liners are a life saver and save a lot of time and effort
  • A short step ladder is very useful for reaching the higher areas with a paintbrush

Tools

  • Fluffy rollers hold more paint and spreads more evenly
  • Use the good painters tape when painting very contrasting colours (i.e., an accent wall with white trim)
  • Use a wood stick vs a metal stick attachment for roller extension
  • Use a soft bristled 2.5″ – 3″ angled brush for trims and wall edges
  • Use a soft bristled 1″ angled brush for corners
  • Use poly sheets to cover your entire working surface

Unfortunately, I didn’t take “before and after” shots of my little project (my camera was packed away).  I’d like to show some pictures of my room of the completed project, but for now, here is the inspiration for my accent wall.

(Image via)

That’s about it from me.

Readers, do you have any tips to share for painting?  Have you painted an accent wall before?

Cheers,

P.S. Have you ever seen a violinist rock out?  My latest YouTube obsession.  And these are my favourites.  Check her out because her stuff is awesome.

5 Comments

Filed under Random

5 responses to “Painting

  1. I can’t wait to see the finished photo shots!

  2. I’m looking forward to the finished shots too! I haven’t really done any accent walls, but I’ve certainly used colour throughout.

  3. I second cleaning your walls before you paint! No one does it. When I moved into my house the walls were freshly painted beige, we painted over with white but apparently the walls were not cleaned before the beige. The paint started to blister in some places; we basically had to poke holes in the blisters, and try to deflate them. Can’t wait to see after shots though! The choice of bold colours is amazing.

  4. Ooh! Yes, please show some after pictures. My paint tip: if you’re using rollers, you can store used rollers in between coats in the fridge. Just wrap a plastic bag around the end of the roller and stick it in the fridge. When you go to do the next coat, you can pull the roller out of the fridge and go right at it – no need for a new roller.

  5. belowhermeans

    Beautiful combination! You clearly have great taste.

Leave a Reply

