My Facial Evening…

(image via)

I’ve been pretty quiet lately but my off-line life has been pretty interesting.  I just moved into my new apartment this weekend, and I really like it (aside from no air conditioning…).   I haven’t had much time to unwind or the quiet time, so this evening , I thought that I’d have some kimchi raman noodles with veggies and a facial.

One of my favourite ways to unwind is give myself an at-home facial.  I’ve picked up some tips from my previous facials, and I try to mimic at home what works best. I’ve been using a lot of products from Pure and Simple for the last year and I love them.   This might not work for everyone, but I’ve had really great results.

Cleanse with Oil Cleansing Method

I use a mixture of 25% jojoba oil with 75% castor oil (~$20) and massage the oil onto my dry face with clean, dry hands.   I leave the oil on my face for about 10 – 15 minutes and then, I add a little more oil mixture to my fingers and massage further.  The oil mixture not only removes all my make-up, but it also helps remove my blackheads.  I can feel little blackheads pop out (with no squeezing!).  Then, I run a towel under hot water and place it on my face (kind of like a steamer) and wipe away the oil mixture.

Physical Exfoliant

Sometimes, I use a physical exfoliant and others, I use a chemical exfoliant.  I really like the LeNeige strawberry yogurt exfoliant mask, but that has been discontinued and replaced with something not so great.  Now, I use the Pure + Simple Sensitive Skin Exfoliant and Face Mask ($21.95).

I dab my cheeks and my forehead, wet my fingers and then work the exfoliant all over my face and neck.  I really like this physical exfoliant, as I find the particles are not too harsh on my skin, but exfoliate well.

Chemical Exfoliant

When I have a bit more time, I usually prefer the chemical exfoliant over the physical one – but it’s a lot messier.  My face always looks so radiant after this lactic acid mask made of equal parts sour cream and honey.  You can also use yogurt, but I find it too runny for my liking.  I like to use a blank paper mask to keep the stuff on my face – I’m not sure where to find them in Canada, but I bought a bunch when I was in Hong Kong.

Clay Mask

I really like the Pure + Simple Purifying French Clay Mask ($19.95) to help with keeping my skin clear and help control the oil on my face.  (I have very oily skin).  I spread the clay mask around my eye area and all ove rmy face.  Since the clay mask is more drying, I like to balance it out by layering with a…

Cucumber Mask

I like to use the Pure + Simple Calming Cucumber Mask ($22.95) over the clay mask and in the more delicate area around my eye.   I also like to use this mask on its own when my skin is feeling dry (but that doesn’t happen very often).  One jar usually lasts me at least 6 months.

Nightly Regime

After I wash off my mask, I follow with my nightly regime.

I apply my Pure + Simple Algea Serum all over my face and neck, then I apply Differin Gel all over my face and neck, and then follow with the Black Mud Lotion.

Right before bed, I apply Vaseline  to my lashes and eyelids, and a thin layer across my lips.  I know you’re probably thinking – Petroleum Jelly?!  But, I find my skin is always plump the next morning, with no break outs.

Do you like facials?  What are you favourite products or mixtures to use at home?

Cheers,

10 Comments

Filed under Health, Personal

10 responses to “My Facial Evening…

  1. Favorited this.. I need to get some castor oil lol I would sure like the blackheads to pop out of my face.

    My skin is pissed this week for something. I NEVER get zits and right now I have like 5. I have no idea what happened =(

    • I think it’s probably from the weird weather we’ve been having, my skin went nuts on me last week too. It had been smooth sailing, and then BAM 4 zits and rough skin texture :(

  2. I was thinking the same thing as @Bridget re: castor oil. It sounds somewhat counter productive to use oil to remove acne but I will try it!

  3. mochiandmacarons

    Wow that’s a lot. I always feel like when I do too much, my skin screams: STOPPPPPPP!! .. and then pimples blitz around my face.

    By the way, NEVER use rosehip oil on your face. I tried it based on internet recommendations for scars, and it made me break out like CRAZY.

    Vaseline, I agree with. Exfoliating — I LOVE my Mia Clarisonic.

  4. I don’t give myself facials enough. At most, I’d shower and use some Biore strips. ^___^;

    I should though. Mochimac gave me the Algae Serum… But I never use it. O_O;

  5. Kay

    I used to do it very religiously and had a smooth face with great complexion.

    Been slacking off in the recent years though.. time to get back. I had a facial at pure&simple after you and FB spoke about it and loved the facial.. it’s just too expensive though.. I do like their other products – the sunscreen especially..

    I used to do the OCM meathod with olive oil/castor oil.. time to get back to it.. it was like a mini facial everyday and my skin never looked better.. OCM really works!

    Other DIY skin toner/cleanser/brightener that I like is to mix honey with lemon juice and massage it on my face.. and wipe it off with luke warm water.

    While I do currently use all natural products like papaya scrubs / walnut scrubs etc once in 2-3 days, I haven’t given myself a proper facial… time to remedy that. Thanks for the reminder!

  6. belowhermeans

    This sounds divine. I use a clay mask once a week. Daily I use Clean and Clear Morning Burst and Sea Breeze.

  7. Pingback: Currently Obsessed with Oil Cleansing Method!!! | fabulously fru-girl

Leave a Reply

