Italy

I am writing this post from my iPod and have no idea how the formatting will turn out, so please excuse me if this turns out wonky.

Having spent the last 48 hours in Italy, I’m starting to feel a little more comfortable.

I started off my trip in Rome. I learned my first lesson at the airport currency exchange – if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. The exchange rate was 1.413 euros to 1 CND. I debated converting $100 or $200 to get me started and get better rates in town.

At the rate above, I would get about 140 euros. So when I heard 180 from the lady, I thought that I must have done some crazy wrong math. Turns out she said 108, which includes a 19.70% commission and an additional flat rate. Ouch.

I will try not to dwell on that thought much. I just felt that I should have known better and asked her to write out the numbers to clarify.

But onto Rome.

Rome felt like a city that has been somehow dropped and merged into the landscape of another era. I walk along the windy streets and there are huge stone walls. I imagine these walls must have served to protect the city during times of war in Rome’s great past. And now I get to stand outside of it! It’s pretty amazing, isn’t it?

Lesson learned.

I just arrived in Florence and am off to explore the city. It’s funny all the things that remind you of home when you are halfway across the world. For instance, I ordered a Big Mac and didn’t have to speak a word of Italian.

Don’t worry, I won’t be eating many big macs with the amazing food in Italy. It was just re closest and cheapest restaurant in the train station where I had just missed my train! ;)

I leave you with a post of a view from my hostel. I just love the architecture!!

20120522-140753.jpg

10 Comments

Filed under Travel

10 responses to “Italy

  1. I’ve always wanted to travel to Italy. Thanks for sharing your experience with the airport currency exchange counter. I would have made the same mistake, since I always assume that the fees are included in the rate

  2. ahhhh so jealous!!

    Enjoy it =) looks like an amazing trip!

  3. ST

    Ooh…thanks for the insight. Looking forward to hearing more about your experience there. My fiance and I are looking into Italy for our honeymoon so your feedback would be very valuable for us. Enjoy the rest of your time there!! :)

  4. Enjoy! I hope you’ll put up more pictures of your travels.

  5. Hope you are having fun!!! So nice to hear from you there :)

  6. belowhermeans

    Gaahhhh, so jealous.

  7. Pingback: Links I Like Thursday! 5/24/12 « Below Her Means

  8. I hope you’re having a great time in Italy!

    By the way, I used your orange key. Hopefully you’ll come home to a little post vacation money ;)

  9. Cait

    Don’t you dare eat another Big Mac, hehe. Pasta, pizza, and wine only. Eat, pray, love babe! Soak it all up :)

  10. Pingback: Bitten by the travel bug | A Gai Shan Life

Leave a Reply

