Financial Bucket List

(Image via)

I’m a bit late to the game, but I wanted to share some items in my Financial Bucket List for a chance to win $500 from Krystal’s giveaway!

On My Financial Bucket List

  1. Have $100,000 in long term savings (includes both RRSP, TFSA and other investments) by the time I turn 30.
  2. Continue to contribute to my travel fund and keep it topped up at $3,000 to $5,000.
  3. Go in for a Laser Eye Surgery consultation and then save the cash to pay for it ~$5,000 (estimate).
  4. Look into having a side hustle to supplement my full-time gig.
  5. Early retirement Attain financial freedom by the time I am 45 – 55.  I used to think I wanted to retire early, but now, I think that I just want to have the freedom to do what I want – whether it be traveling, working or gardening.

What’s on your financial bucket list?

Psst!  Enter my Grown-up Christmas Wish Giveaway !  Bonus: I will also match your donations to charity :)

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Financial Bucket List

  1. We have similar goals. Except for the eye surgery – I’m a big wuss and am scared of this idea, and the side-hustle – I’m lazy and like the idea of working one well-paying job and being able to relax full time other than that.

    I really like what you said about financial freedom. I was just reading someone else’s blogpost the other day about how the knowledge of having the freedom to choose what we want to do in life is the number one factor – not the actual freedom, but the knowledge that we exert control over our surroundings. Applying this to the PF situation, I don’t necessarily want to stop working completely any time soon, but at the same time, it’d be really nice to know that I can choose do work (or not work).

    You’re quite the saver, I’m sure you’ll reach your goal number 1 way before 30!

  2. I mean to say *the number one deciding factor of happiness

  3. Have you looked into Paragon CRT (Corneal Refractive Therapy)? It’s a non-surgical option I’ve looked into (especially since there have been some warnings about the safety of Laser Eye Surgery).

    I don’t know about really hardcore “by the time I die” types of bucket list goals, but I want to save up my first “extra” $10k for non-retirement investing (on top of maxing out my retirement accounts, of course), and to save up enough money to buy a house without a mortgage (since I want to have property to develop a forest garden on).

  4. My BF had laser eye surgery done and he’s SOOOOO happy. It was definitely a great move for him; AND he used a groupon! I think he saved $1500, so the whole procedure was “only” $2500.

  5. Pingback: Link Love – December Ed. | Budget or Fudget

  6. Those are great goals! $100,000 is a great amount to shoot for – I need to learn about all of those kind of investments you mention. Laser eye surgery is also exciting! I’m not a good candidate for it but I wish I was…I can’t imagine how wonderful it would be to be able to see without glasses or contacts. Good luck with your bucket list!

  7. Pingback: Link Love – December Ed. | Budget or Fudget

Leave a Reply

