New Skin Regime

(Photo source)

As I have written before, I have struggled to find a skin regime that would work with my skin for most of this year.  I have consulted both dermatologists, estheticians, and read books on skincare.

Even though my skin not perfect now, it’s much better than it has been in a long time and I have really been able to get my acne under control.  :)

I’m a creature of habit and when I find something that works, I stick with it.  I don’t like trying new products if what I’m using already works. I’m kinda boring like that :)

Things I learned

Natural is not always best.  There is a huge green movement, ranging from skincare products using more natural ingredients to mineral powder foundations.  The hippie in me wanted to embrace this movement,as well.  And for a while, I convinced myself that natural was better.

The thing I learned is that I have to use that is best for my skin.  I can try to incorporate more natural skin care products if it works for my skin, but I can’t force it.  And sometimes, I need stronger chemical (gasp!) products to control things – such as my acne.  There is nothing wrong with that.

Your skin changes.  Something that worked for me 3 years ago, stopped working for me earlier this year, and I needed to adapt.

Education is key.  I thought that I was fairly knowledgeable in skincare.  After all, I had been struggling with acne since grade 7.  But, this time, I still learned new things that I have been able to incorporate in my daily regime.

My New Regime

Includes more moisturizing.  Since I use stronger products to control my oil and exfoliate my skin, I needed to make sure my skin was moisturized and protected.

I have combined the best of what my dermatologist has recommended with more natural and moisturizing products.  I have also tried to avoid the products that Baumann did not recommend for oily, sensitive and pigmented skin types.

AM Regime
Cleanse with gentle cleanser.  I use Spectro Jel. Tone with a glycolic acid toner.  Acne spot treatment, as required.  Moisturize dry areas – around my eyes and cheeks.  Apply sunscreen then make up.

The glycolic acid toner helps slough away dead skin cells, and I moisturize in dry areas so that my face doesn’t go to overdrive and produce too much oil.  I use more natural moisturizers because I find they absorb more easily into my skin.

PM Regime
Remove make-up.  Apply serum all over face and neck. Apply acne gel all over face and neck.  Moisturize with night cream in dry areas. I also use a bit of Vitamin E oil for spot treatments at areas of pigmentation, as needed.

Once a week (when I can squeeze it in):
Sour cream and honey mask.  For exfoliation and soothing. I think honey also has anti bacterial properties, as well.  And a hydrating mask and a clay mask. For hydration and reducing oil production.

What is your AM and PM skin regime?  Do you use a weekly mask?  Or have any DIY toiletries to share?  I’d love to hear them. :)

Cheers,

12 Comments

Filed under Personal

12 responses to “New Skin Regime

  1. I have so many facial masks that I never use! I need to get on that. Maybe I’ll do one tonight :)

    I used to have really problem skin, and bad acne, but birth control cleared my acne up which was wonderful. Now it’s sort of combination skin which makes it hard to deal with, but I just use a gentle face wash and a basic cream.

    • My acne was more under control with birth control, and it takes a bit more work and tweaking of my skin regime now that I’ve gone off of it.

      I LOVE facial masks. In fact, I’m going to one right now :)

  2. PD

    My skincare routine is fairly simple for both AM & PM: cleanse with face wash and moisturize (plus sunscreen for AM). If I have zits I’d spot treat with Benzoyl Peroxide treatments like Clearasil, etc. I used to struggle with acne from clogged pores especially on my forehead area, but a few months ago I started washing my face with the help of Skinsonic (which is pretty much like the Clarisonic but without the heavy price tag). This addition really helped clear my skin, I think because it does a more thorough job of washing & exfoliating the face as opposed to just with my fingers.

  3. What moisturizer do you use?

    I use Clinique’s Acne Solutions cleanser at night, toner 2x AM and PM, spot treatment 1-2x a week, and the mask once a week. I love their whole line. I use Lancome Genifique for serum once every other day and the Lancome Genifique eye serum. I’m liking my regimen right now and I have truly acne prone skin (cystic acne).

    • I have a post coming up with all my holy grail products that make up my skin regime and makeup bag :)

      I currently use La Roche Posay Rosaliaic (as recommended by Baumann) or Pure and Simple Skin Drink in the AM, and then Pure and Simple Algea serum with Martina Gebhardt’s Black Mud Lotion in the PM.

  4. SR

    I have just discovered cleansing oil, and it’s amazing! It’s good for acne prone skin ( I know, even though it’s called oil) and it cleanses and moisturizes in one without the need to use a facial moisturizer at night.
    I did my research and now use oscia brand available at Sephora. It’s a bit pricey at $31, but a little goes a long way.

  5. SR

    Sorry, *Boscia brand. I also hear Shiseido is quite good as well, and is $27.

  6. Anonymous

    I went off birth control almost two years ago and my skin is STILL adjusting. Have always had an issue with recurrent cystic acne and now I have blackheads too! Fun. :) However, I’m currently using all Lush products and am liking what I see so far. Skin is very soft and while not totally clear yet, nothing new has erupted. Using Buche de Noel cleanser, Tea Tree Toner, Greased Lightning spot-treatment, and Gorgeous moisturizer. The poster above has a point–I’ve found that’s best to keep moisturized, even if lightly, so that your skin doesn’t overreact and produce even MORE oil.

  7. I started using Philosophy skincare about 2 years ago and love it! Unfortunately its a bit pricey but a little goes a long way. I use their cleanser and moisturizer (Hope in a Jar) every morning and night. Used to use an oatmeal facial mask from the Body Shop which I loved but just haven’t gotten around to picking up a new one. Also love masks so I should get on that! And I’m ashamed to say I’ve never gone to the spa for a facial. I’ve been told it will change my life!

  8. Pingback: 2011 Annual Financial Recap | fabulously fru-girl

  9. If your skin is similar to mine, you are probably also sick of spending money on products that do nothing to clear your skin up quickly. My remedy was to make my own natural acne treatments from scratch. I have already experimented with making my own green and natural skincare products, so I understood how simple it was to make effective products at home.

Leave a Reply

