You Can Have it All…

… just not all at once.

– author unknown

(Photo source)

I’m not sure who that quote came from, but that quote came to me at the right time.

I was finishing up college, and months away from joining the work force (aka  real life).  And I had no idea what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.

It seemed that all my life, I’ve worked hard in school for the goal of graduating and getting a good job.  Now that I was finally at the end of the tunnel, staring at the fruits of my labour, it felt … almost anti-climatic.

Entrepreneur Conference

I went to an entrepreneur conference and listened to many amazing speakers for some inspiration.  I was by no means, an entrepreneur but I was curious to learn about other people’s stories. I also didn’t really know what an entrepreneur was.

As a young woman, I often wonder how other women juggle balance their lives.  Work, kids, husband, family, exercise and don’t forget about having some time to ourselves, right?  I was scared because I wasn’t sure how I would even find a job – much less worry about anything and everything else.

Someone opened my eyes

She shared the story of how she built her business.  How she and her husband lived in the city, watching their pennies so they could afford to take the eventual risk.  I remembered her sharing that she and her husband worked downtown, and instead of heading out for lunch, they would pack their sandwiches and enjoy lunch together at the park. Eventually, they saved enough to start a business.  To buy a house.  To have a family.

But they didn’t do it all at once.

Then it hit me…

I didn’t need to have my life all figured out this very instant.

In fact, I just needed to figure out the next step and go from there.  Decide from my next step whether I wanted to continue or change.  Nothing is written in stone, and I didn’t need to be scared to make a mistake.

All I had to do with put one foot in front of the other, look up and re-evaluate every so often.  Decide if I want to keep going, or take a new path.  In fact, there are no mistakes in life, just lessons. (Oh my, aren’t I getting all philosophical?;) )

What are some inspirations quotes or stories that have had a big impact on your life?

Cheers,

7 Comments

Filed under Personal

7 responses to “You Can Have it All…

  1. I’ve been hearing about this a lot lately and it’s true that women can’t have it all at once. It was something very hard for me to accept after graduating college too. I thought, once I graduate I’ll find the perfect job with the perfect office, salary, co-workers, and life that I have dreamed of. But it takes hard work and TIME to get there! Life isn’t easy but making decisions that will affect the future can be easy if you just think ahead. My dad always tells me to think ahead and I am truly grateful for his wise advice. The BF and I are always thinking ahead and saving for our first place while all of my friends are still partying away and “enjoying” their 20′s. I’m only 23 but I feel like sacrificing some fun now will pay off in the future when I have my own kids and the job I want.

  2. That’s one of my most favourite quotes, and I’ve blogged about this a couple of times before. Balance is a long-term thing.

  3. I love this quote but haven’t thought about it in a long time. Thank you for this great reminder.

  4. Pingback: A Little Bit Irked « diggingoutandup

Leave a Reply

