August 2011 Recap

I knew that August was going to be an expensive month with a rafting trip, food and booze farewell parties, and spending too much time with friends on a patio.

Income: $3,766.17

Spending: $1,532.16

Just a normal 2 pay cheque month.  I also included the $100 I got from ING for opening up a Thrive checking account!  Love free money – take that, TD Bank!

Click on any image to enlarge.

Here’s where the money went in August:

On or under budget

Clothes: Shopping ban – check!

Cell Phone: New plan kicked in.  Saving me $10 a month :)

Gifts: For birthdays and goodbye gifts & cards.

Medical: No massage this month.  But I did see my dermatologist.  So that should be $18.  Oops.  I’ll add it now but not fixing the picture.

Over budget

Clearly, I did not anticipate all this spending! :P

Eating Out: Socializing is expensive.  I also took out my family for dinner.  And I’ve been going for drinks and food after volleyball. Grrr…

Toiletries/Grooming: My acne flared up A LOT.  I panicked and went out to buy some new products.  I also got a foundation – I don’t count this as a cheat on my shopping ban.  But, whatever.  I didn’t have a good foundation for covering up my acne.  I also stocked up on blotting powder and dry shampoo. *tear*

Entertainment and Recreation: This includes only the car rental and gas for rafting trip.  I also bought food and booze for a party and attended a friend’s  party.

Transportation: Gas is expensive.  I bought more tokens.  I also signed up for Zipcar with a Groupon.  $29 for 1-year membership and $30 driving credit!

Groceries: No biggie.  There is some good wine and cheese in there. :)

Here is my net worth update:


I managed to eek out with a 1% gain and I am happy with that – considering the market and the drop in my portfolio.  Ouch.  Everything went down and the only reason my RRSP is positive is because of  automatic payments.

I’ve also got a lot of cash on hand.  I’ve finally topped up my Emergency Fund to $10,000 (yay, me!).  My “General Savings” includes my travel fund, as well.  Ideally, I would like $10,000 in Emergency Fund (done), $15,000 cash savings, and $4,000 in travel fund.

Time to re-balance my portfolio, do some research and buy some stocks :)

Summary:

Overall, I am happy with this month’s outcome.  Nothing I can do about the markets, c’est la vie  :)

How was your spending in August?  Did you meet your budget goals?

Cheers,

4 Comments

Filed under Budget, Net Worth

4 responses to “August 2011 Recap

  1. Yay to the $10k EF and the NW increase!

    We have £10k in our ef, and now we’re aiming for £10k in general savings (at £7,700) and £5k in travel savings (I keep spending the last one, but I’d love to get ahead with it!)

  2. Love the round number for your savings! Keep up the wonderful work.

Leave a Reply

