Review: Helpful iPod/iPhone Apps

Ever since BF got me my iPod Touch in April, we have been inseparable.  (My iPod and I, that is.) :)

Why I love my iPod

I use it as my mini-computer to check my e-mail, read and approve comments, Twitter (although, I still don’t really get Twitter), read all my RSS feeds, update my personal calender, write down random lists/notes to myself, and play useless mind games (like Angry Birds).

I really prefer having the iPod Touch vs the iPhone because I don’t have to worry about battery life for a phone.  The iPod Touch has so many great features, but battery life is not one of them.

Now, onto those apps!

Awesome Notes ($3.99 USD)

After reading Everyday Minimalist’s fabulous review on this, I had to try it out for myself.

It’s like having an old school agenda on you, that’s squeezed into a little icon.

I make lists, write down random ideas/information.  I can sort my notes into different folders with various security settings. I can view all my notes in calender view or each separately.

I can have different types of notes (to do, general notes, tasks with deadlines, etc), and choose different backgrounds for my notes, too.

I used to write down my purchases in the calender mode (to be transferred to my budget spreadsheet), until I recently discovered…

Piggie (free)

My nickname for this app is miss Piggie because this app is co cute!

I use this to input my expenses right away and then transfer the information to my overall budget spreadsheet.  The interface is super easy to use, you enter the amount you spent, pick you category, date and any notes.  You also get to choose cute emoticons for your category shortcuts.

This app will also allow you to compare your day-to-day, week-to-week, month-to-month spending.  My favourite part of the app is the bar charts and pie charts it puts together for you!

Mobile RSS (free)

I’ve tried a few other readers, and this one if my favourite.

The interface looks very similar to the Google Reader interface, and sorts your feeds into the same folders and tags (starred items, shared items, comment view, etc).

When you read individual posts, the app allows you the same capabilities in Google Reader, as well.  You can: like, star, keep as unread, share, add a note, retweet, share on Facebook, Delicious, Evernote, ReaditLater or Instapaper.  You also get the full article, and images.

I like to update my feeds and then read them when I don’t have Wifi.  Their most recent update allow you to view images in articles even without access to Wifi (after you have already “downloaded” your feeds).

Talkatone (free)

I’ve only used this app on occasion that my cell phone has died since the quality of the call is unreliable.

Basically, this app connects via GMail and you are able to make calls from an iPod or iPhone through Wifi.  You are also able to receive and send text messages through it.  Although, I thought it was a bit sketchy that they changed my GMail status to “Message me at LINK”, which was how I found about the texting capability.

I’m not sure how this will change if calls are not free (within Canada) through GMail, anymore.

WordPress (free)

If you blog through WordPress, this app is great for moderating comments, replying to comments and checking your stats.

I find it difficult to write a post (limited editing tools) in this app, so I don’t use it for that much.  I prefer to make my headings bold and add images, which is difficult to do in their app.

Sephora (free)

I haven’t played around with this app much, but I love browsing the “sale” section.  I never see this kind of sale in Sephora, and would love to shop here (after my shopping ban, of course!).

I have to limit my browsing around on this app, so not to tempt myself.  You can browse their items, and save things in your cart.  Super user friendly. You can also browse tutorials, virtually try on nail polish (not sure about other make-up), and everything looks so pretty!

Free shipping in Canada after $50 purchase?  Yes, please.

I’m surprised I haven’t cheated on my shopping ban with this app! Really, I haven’t. :)

That’s it for me

Those are the apps I use on a regular basis and I love them!

Do you have any app suggestions?  Please share in the comments.

Cheers,

Note: All photos above are stock photos taken from the iTune app store, with the exception of the Awesome Notes taken from the app website.

11 Comments

Filed under Review

11 responses to “Review: Helpful iPod/iPhone Apps

  1. I have used the Awesome Note app and I just love writing everything down in a book and then crossing it off when everything gets done! For some reason I could not get into it. But I do love Angry Birds!

  2. This is awesome! I love Awesome notes…. I am downloading Piggie now and see how it works! :)

  3. Some of my favourite APPS are:
    – Fluffy Birds
    – Mahjong Towers
    – Cleopatra’s Pyramid
    – Calculator HD (maybe just for IPad though?)
    – Blogsy (for blogging)
    – AccuRadio (LOVE THIS!!!)
    – istash (for keeping track of savings goals)
    – CraftGawker

    Enjoy! :)

  4. wmwo

    I’m downloading some of these now… Thanks!

  5. Ummm FYI, Piggie and I have been inseparable since I read this on Friday. Thanks! :D

  6. Lurrrrrrrrrrve Awesome Notes.

    I also like “Do it Tomorrow’ and To Do. I use To Do for my travel plans and “Do it Tomorrow” for a quick list of stuff to get done while I’m at the desk at work

Leave a Reply

