Shopping Ban: Half-way Update

This year, I decided to embark on a self-imposed shopping ban.  You can read more details about it here, and here and my past updates here.  To sum it up, no shopping for clothes, jewelry and make-up for a whole year.  I am allowed 3 exceptions, including a pair of black boots, an iTouch, and a winter jacket.  This challenge is to help me shop my own closet, and be more creative with making items, and re-using items.  I am also allowed to shop at thrift stores with my “reward” money ($25) for staying within my $1,000 monthly budget.  This is my monthly update.

Ladies and gentlemen, I can’t believe that I have passed the halfway mark of my shopping ban!  Hooray!  :)

I have been meaning to update my blog to reflect the status of my shopping ban and how I have been faring.  I’ve also slipped up a few times, and I do need to confess.  Let’s get to the updates, and I will start with the good news.

iPod Touch Birthday Gift

My BF bought me an iPod Touch as a birthday gift (love it!), so I will take that off my list and allow myself one article of clothing in its place.   And I already know what that piece would have to be…

A Staple Cardigan

I have a handful of cardigans that are not very good quality but look okay.  All of them have shown wear after just one season, and I realize that I do need to pay more attention to the quality of clothes that I buy (hence the shopping ban!).

I’ve had my eye on this cardigan since last winter and could never find it anywhere in my size!  My friend knew I was obsessed really liked it, and she sent me a text while I was in the Maritimes that she found my cardigan in my size for 40% off. (For those curious, it’s  by Line Knitwear $90 $55).

At first I stood my ground, and reminded her about my shopping ban.  But when she asked, “Are you sure??” I caved and asked her to get it for me.  I am weak, I know.

That cardigan will have to be another one of the three exceptions I allow myself.  Only one exception item left!  Yikes!

Joe Fresh Matte Lipstick

Last confession, I promise. I hope you all don’t think I am a complete failure.

Usually, I have my shopping ban “shield” up when I enter a mall or store (usually to pick up a make-up refill) so I stay focused on the task at hand, and not break my shopping ban.

Unfortunately, my shopping ban “shield” was down when I went grocery shopping at the Canadian Superstore.  I wandered over to their Joe Fresh aisles and found their make-up line.  And then I remembered seeing GlitterGeek’s rave review on their Fuchsia matte lipstick.

So, I picked up a tube of fuchsia – last one!  And clay (a neutral colour).  But they were only $6 each!  And they feel fabulous! :)

I digress.  I know I completely cheated on this one.  I paid for it with my reward points, so I didn’t actually spend any out of pocket money.  But this doesn’t mean that I can go around spending reward points while on my shopping ban.  That would be unacceptable and it would defeat the purpose of my shopping ban.

From now on, I will have my shopping ban “shield” up when I go grocery shopping, especially at the Canadian Superstore.

Conclusion

I may have faltered a bit, but I plan to see my shopping ban through!

At the beginning of my shopping ban, I allowed myself three exception and I still plan to stick to it.  I’ve used up two so far, and my last one planned is a nice winter coat.  I may not actually get a nice winter coat – I spent too much time looking for one last year and couldn’t find something I loved.

We will see – it’s hard to think about winter coats in August! :)

Wish me luck.

Links!

It’s been a while, but I still have the links to previous shopping banners I’ve compiled.

Please let me know if I’ve missed anyone, or if you’d like to be added to the list!  Just send me an e-mail or leave a comment.

Cheers,

14 Comments

Filed under Shopping Ban

14 responses to “Shopping Ban: Half-way Update

  1. You can do it. p’_’q
    It’s more than a half… If you started Jan 1st and it’s mid aug now, you really have only 4.5 months left.

  2. CONGRATS on being halfway! That’s awesome :) I personally don’t think that you cheated. Not only did you use awards points, but some people feel that lipstick is a necessity! Haha :)

  3. Congratulations! That is quite an achievement, I’m rooting for you!

  4. Congratulations of getting half way! And I think you did awesome, and even though technically you did cheat a bit you didn’t spend more $$ than anticipated so no harm done. I also love that sweater, and its a lot cheaper than an iPad!

    • Thanks, ShoeGal! I felt pretty guilty for cheating, but I LOVE the Fuschia! I’ve never felt so brave on my lips in my entire life :)

      I’ve tried the BlackBerry Playbook and think it’s pretty comparable to the iPad, and it was not something the I felt I needed to have. But a great toy, indeed.

  5. Chelley

    Almost there. :) Good luck!

    Just curious, what black boots did you end up buying? :)

  6. I would like to mention that, as a direct result of this posting, I purchased the Joe Fresh fuschia lipstick and it is, indeed, gorgeous.

  7. Sonia

    Well done!! I’m not brave enough to try a ban yet.

Leave a Reply

