East Coast Canada Sneak Peak

I haven’t had a chance to go through all of BF’s and my photo’s yet, but here are a few quickies I grabbed from his Google+ account for a sneak peak.

Nova Scotia

We went to see the Alexander Keith’s Brewery in Halifax.  We agreed it was like paying $20 to watch a 45 minute long commercial for the beer.  But it was thoroughly entertaining :)

We started our food journey and had seafood every lunch and dinner! Never have I had so much seafood in my life – so fresh and delicious!  We especially loved visiting the fishing villages and eating at the mom and pop restaurants.

We spent about 2.5 days on the Cabot Trail and drove all the way to the northern most point of Cape Breton.  It was so beautiful out here.  We drove along the moutainside next to the coast.  At times, you look over and all you see is a drop straight down to the ocean!  It was both scary and beautiful at the same time.

Prince Edward Island

We spent one day in Charlottetown. We visited a beautiful Gothic church.  The workmanship and detail is extraordinary.  I loved the beautiful high arches and the stained glass is magnificent.

We also visited Province House.  This was when Canada first became a nation  with four province – Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Ontario, known as the four fathers of Confederation.  Province House is still in use today.

We also crossed Confederation Bridge.  This bridge was built in 1997, spans 13km long and cost $1 billion to construct.  It is the longest bridge in the world crossing ice-covered water.  It is truly an engineering achievement of the 20th century.

I also visited Green Gables.  Seeing the outside of Green Gables and walking along Lovers Lane was really neat (my favourite part).  I probably built up the house too much in my head, because the inside of Green Gables just looked like an old (but really nicely restored) house.  We also went to the sand dune beach and I had a little nap along the ocean.

This was the closest I got to meeting Anne – she was busy playing Mr. Wolf with the kids. Hi, Anne! *waves*

New Brunswick

We visited the Bay of Fundy. Photographs to come as I learn how to convert RAW files to JPGs :)

In Summary

BF and I had an amazing time and we would love to go back.  We are pretty lazy laid back travelers.  This may stem from too many intense back-packing trips when we tried to cram as much sights in as little time as possible during our college years.

We try to have 1 or 2 things at each place we want to see, then we just play it by ear (or stomach).   Our favourite thing to do in each new place is to eat and walk around.  We love exploring on foot – kinda like a playground for big kids like us.

Hope you enjoyed the pictures.  Our budget will be coming up!

What is your travel style?  Do you like to have a set itinerary or see everything?  Or do you prefer to take it easy?

Cheers,

5 Comments

Filed under Travel

5 responses to “East Coast Canada Sneak Peak

  1. Great pics!!! I am dying to go to the east coast!

  2. !!! I didn’t know you were going to Halifax! That’s where I’m from (and where my fabulous frugal family lives)! I know a bunch of people who paid for university working on the brewery tour. Glad to see you had a good time – it’s a great time of year to visit there!

  3. Great pics. They just reaffirm that I should put going to the East Coast higher up the list of places to visit.

  4. Pingback: East Coast Canada Vacation Budget Recap | fabulously fru-girl

Leave a Reply

