Does you see the Scratches on the glass or the Million Dollar View?

(Photo source)

I know that this is just another way of saying, “Is the glass half full or half empty?”, but I thought it was an interesting story to share.

This last week, I was over at an acquaintance’s home.  They lived on the 24th floor of a beautiful condo overlooking the City.  Both the view from the master bedroom and the living area was breath taking, and understandably – a million dollar(s) view.  Unlike many condo’s in the City, it wasn’t blocked by highrises or office building – just a beautiful view.

Unfortunately, this acquaintance, didn’t seem to have the same perspective as me, because all over their beautiful glass, they scrawled and marked up where all the scratches and imperfections were.  There must have been at least 10 – 15 circles/boxes drawn around scratches and they scrawled notes onto the glass of what the imperfections were.  (My face was about 3 inches away from the glass before I could see some of the scratches that she was talking about.)

I understand that they did this so that when they complained to the condo Board, they can find these locations at a quick glance and to fix them.  But they have lived like this for almost an entire year.

I understand that if they paid a lot of money for their home (I’m guess at least a million bucks), they would want it to be perfect.  But the reality is that nothing is perfect.  And what I find really sad is that instead of seeing the beautiful view they had, all they see are all the little scratches and imperfection.

Even though I don’t plan on plunking down a $1 million on a condo – no matter how great the view, I hope that if I were to do that, I would be someone who would be enjoying the view.

Are you someone who enjoys the view?  Or would want the glass to be perfect before you can really enjoy the view? 

Cheers,

9 Comments

Filed under Personal, Random

9 responses to “Does you see the Scratches on the glass or the Million Dollar View?

  1. I have a similar view from my place, but I don’t own it, we rent. Our glass is scratched and usually smeared with dog prints, but it doesn’t stop me from enjoying the view. It might though, if I owned the house.

  2. I don’t even see the scratches on my glasses, and they’re right on my face – I don’t think some scratches in a pane of window glass would stop me from enjoying the view.

  3. Pingback: Link Love: Positive Thoughts | Blonde on a Budget

  4. Scratched Glass Solution

    Frugirl,

    You would be surprised at how often this is the case where small things like scratches on glass can really annoy a homeowner. I think scratched glass is praticularaly worse than other situations because you know somebody scratches it but no one will admit it. I actually run a business that specializes in fixing scratched glass on high end condo work like this. We offer a great alternative to fixing scratched glass. We are able to get in and out fast while taking care of the scratches and restoring that million dollar view.

    -Zach

  5. I run a business that removes scratches like this. One thing to keep in mind is that when the light hits the scratches right (or wrong depending on how you look at it) they may become highly visible.
    I meet a wide variety of people, some don’t care about scratches at all, others won’t even stand for a hairline scratch in the corner of the window. Most are somewhere in between though.

  6. I had a friend who had tape on the “nicks” in the glass. I was about to touch it (because you know, I touch everything like a kid) and he told me to stop.

    I’m more of a lassez faire type of person, and these things wouldn’t bother me… but I guess if I did pay $1,000,000 for a condo, I would want to make sure everything was beautiful, I suppose, but if I didn’t get a response back from the condo company after a few months, I would probably give up.

  7. Pingback: Weekend Rambling and PF Blog Love: Finding Balance Edition | youngandthrifty.ca

Leave a Reply

