Review: Dry Shampoo (a girl’s best friend)

(Photo source)

I have a confession to make: I have washed my hair everyday, since grade 5. My hair gets super oily the next day, and it’s really yucky. And so I wash it, and the cycle continues. Oh, and don’t you just love Katie’s hair above? It’s so chic and fun!

It wasn’t until about a 2 years ago when I started reading about all the chemicals that is found in shampoo’s, soaps, body washes, and the “no ‘poo movement” , that I wanted to really break my habit. I have since switches to a paraben and sulfate free shampoo (Kiss My Face), but I wanted to break my habit of washing my hair everyday.

I have tried numerous times to break out of my habit, but failed. Until I discovered dry shampoo about 2 months ago. I have tried 3 so far.

#1 Batiste – original scent ($8 – on sale)

I got this one on sale at Shoppers Drugmart. It’s an aerosol spray and it lasted me for about 2 months.

It is very easy to comb through and does great job making my hair nice and fluffy. I comb it out with a boar bristled brush and it has worked out great. It has a very stronger baby powder scent which is my least favourite part about it.

#2 Ojon ($15)

I got this from Sephora, and this came highly recommended from a friend.

Unfortunately, my first bottle was defected and I exchanged it. What I didn’t realize was the blue bottles are the new formulation, and the original (white bottle) are no longer available.

When I used this the first few times, my hair still felt and looked very oily. I later learned that the contents is actually wet and I was supposed to wait for it to dry before brushing it through my hair. I didn’t want to be bothered, so I didn’t really give this a try and just returned it. The SA I spoke with at Sephora said they preferred the old formulation, as well.

The smell is also strange and the bottle leaked easily. It smelt like herbal bitter medicine. :S

#3 Tresemme ($9)

This is the cheapest regular priced dry shampoo out there and it is awful! Do not get it!

It felt like a weird mix of hair spray and powder in an aerosol can. The smell is very strong and my hair looked like it was oily and had hair spray. Not a good combination. I returned this, as well.

Summary

With the help of dry shampoos, I have been able to go from washing my hair every day to every other day.

Please note that I am using the dry shampoo as a crutch to wean myself off of washing my hair everyday, and still look presentable for work. I do not intend to use dry shampoo as a permanent solution.

I’ve noticed that my hair is slowly (but surely) producing less oils, and I hope to “train” my hair to be washed once every 3 to 4 days. This is probably better for my hair in the long run – my stylist cringes when I tell him I wash my hair every day. And I get to save a bit on shampoo ;)

Disclaimer:  I paid for all the above products with my own money.  I was able to return the Sephora and Tresemme dry shampoo.

Have you tried dry shampoo? Have you hopped on the “no shampoo” movement?

Cheers,

30 Comments

Filed under Review

30 responses to “Review: Dry Shampoo (a girl’s best friend)

  1. I’ve never tried dry shampoo, but I do skip the shampoo most days. Some weeks I can get by with only washing once or twice and on the other days I either just rinse with water or some conditioner.

  2. I’m definitely on the dry shampoo bandwagon. I wash my hair every 4 days or so, if I do it anywhere close to daily I have POOF like you wouldn’t believe! I’m pretty sure I’ve scared boyfriends with it before, haha.

    I actually love the old Ojon formulation for my hair, but like you I had a defective bottle that irreparably clogged about a week into using it. I had 2 in a row actually, that’s why I stopped using it. I’ve tried Cake’s tinted cleanser as well (wasn’t a fan), and I’m using one now that I’m “meh” with (can’t remember the name). Next time I’ll either try Bumble and Bumble’s tinted dry cleansers, or the non-aerosol Ojon cleanser.

    Good luck weening yourself off the shampoo :)

  3. I really like Cake Beauty’s powder shampoo. It smells delicious, and works really well to refresh my ‘do between shampoos. I’m not brave enough yet to go totally no-poo, but this helps me to only wash my hair once or twice a week: http://cakebeauty.com/prodinfo.asp?pid=83

    • Thanks for the link and tip. I’ve seen this brand around my local health food store but haven’t tried it yet. I’m worried that the talc might be harder to incorporate than the spray since I have dark hair.

  4. I wash & blow dry & straighten it EVERYDAY when it was shoulder length. Now it’s to my mid back and i find it super tedious and time consuming to wash, blow & straighten everyday. Not to mention, my hair is coarse, dry and thick (gee.. i wonder why)…

    now i just wash it every other day & i don’t straighten any more because i embraced my wavy hair….~ ~ and i find that my hair is looking healthier…. i might try that dry shampoo you mentioned with the baby powder smell :)

  5. Sarah

    I used the same three dry shampoos, and thought the exact same thing about each of them.
    Just a tip my stylist mentioned about using sulphate free products (I do too), is that you need to wash and rinse your hair twice thoughrougly each time. I noticed my hair felt cleaner for the extra day when I wasn’t washing it.

    • Thanks for the tip, Sarah. Yes, sometimes I notice that my hair isn’t completely clean when I wash with second day with the SLS free shampoo. Another trick I learned is to work in a baking soda and water mixture following the shampoo. It usually does the trick of removing build up.

  6. OMG, I’ve been looking for good dry shampoos for weeks and nobody has been able to recommend one for me. Thank you!!

    My hair’s also oily so I wash , blow dry and use the flat iron every day. It takes forever… not to mention the damage to my hair.

    Thanks again :)

  7. I shampoo every 2-3 days. In Nice I forgot my shampoo so I went without and know what? My hair looked fine! Lol I was kind of confused because I thought it would look like an oil mess (especially by day 3) but it still looked and felt really clean.

  8. I used to no-poo but I found it time consuming and I wasn’t using enough ACV so I had BS build-up on my hair, which wasn’t fun. Instead of fussing with that, I eventually found Genuine African Formula black shampoo, which is great. It doesn’t strip the oils from your hair.

    http://www.genuineafricanformula.com/Scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=29

    I am now washing once every 5 days or so (more if it’s hot/gym/etc.) but when I need to, I use Hair Fix (it’s organic and vegan and smells good and comes in colors and it’s a small company!) and more often than not I pin my hair up on those days either with or without Hair Fix:

    http://myhairfix.com/

    The only thing I don’t love is that it’s a powder so there’s no super easy application and thusly I’ve learned to apply pre-shower! I posted about Hair Fix here:

    http://jesseanneo.blogspot.com/2010/09/seeing-double-dry-shampoo.html

    • Thanks for the links, Jesse. I haven’t seen this brand at my local health store, but I’ll dig around a bit. I wonder how it foams? Since the SLS free shampoo’s I use usually don’t foam.

      • I hope you get to try it; my local food co-op sells it. I might recommend also checking “ethnic hair” sections if they store that stuff in another area?

        It actually does foam pretty well, although it is the consistency of water. I had to get used to putting it right on my wet hair, instead of in my hand. I apply the shampoo in “quadrants” and lather each section, which sounds weird but I wish someone had told me that before I accidentally poured a bunch out into my hand and watched it just go through my fingers!

        I still use conditioner because I dye my hair, but since I only wash it every few days now it’s much less conditioner overall.

  9. I really like one of the original dry shampoos called “Pssst”. I got it at my local drugstore. It works great and is really inexpensive. I also recently purchased the Suave type and it isn’t very good either. Reminds me of the Tresemme one because my hair still felt kind of dirty and it didn’t last long.

    • I guess that’s the thing with inexpensive brands try to skimp on the real deal (?) I’ll keep an eye out for “Pssst” at my local store. I love getting all these ideas and names of so many great products from everyone!

  10. I switched to using dry shampoo once in a while because like you, I’ve always washed my hair everyday. I thought that’s what everyone did! Then I dyed my hair red, so the less I wash the longer it stays in, hence changing my routines. I’ve been using John Frieda Volume Refresher and I’m not too sure how I feel about it. It definitely gets rid of oil, but I don’t feel like it gives me any volume. I might try the one you like and see how that goes instead.

  11. I love love love love dry shampoo. My hair gets really oily as well, so I’m pretty well a shampoo daily sort of girl. I’ve tried the tresemme dry shampoo as well and was less than impressed with the results. I much preferred the klorane brand dry shampoo. It has an herbally scent to it, but most importantly, it really takes out the oil. Next time I’m in the pharmacy, I’ll keep my eyes peeled for the batiste dry shampoo.

    • I’ve yet to try Klorane but I have heard great things about it, and it’s a more natural product than the Batiste. Once it goes on sale, I may just not be able to help myself :)

  12. hello there, lovely frugalista! Thank you so much for reviewing this. as a new mom, i rarely (don’t tell anyone) wash my hair. Twice a week maybe? And it gets soooo greasy. Most days I put it in a bun or low ponytail. I believe this dry shampoo is the answer. You wrote such a great review!!!! Thank you! (And thanks for the shout out!)

    • You always look so gorgeous in your photo’s that I cannot tell at all!

      Dry shampoo’s are awesome and they really help with giving my fine hair some volume on the second (and third) days.

  13. Dry shampoos are increasing popular now. Make sure you use organic dry shampoos since they contain all natural ingredients that are not harmful when you inhale them.

  14. Camellia

    I make my own – grind instant oats in a coffee grinder – and voila! Best if you have lighter hair because even after you brush it out there can be some left.

  15. Marketa

    Hi, I much prefer the Tresemme shampoo to the Batiste – I tried a few different ones and Tresemme is the best (for me). I buy the ‘citrus’ one, smells gorgeous imo and makes my hair looks fabulous. Perhaps it depends on your hair type, mine is very fine. Happy new year.

  16. Pingback: Dove Dry Shampoo FAIL, and Shoppers Drugmart Rant | fabulously fru-girl

Leave a Reply

