PF Confessions: Make-up Wish List

(Photo source)

I am (almost) completely clueless when it comes to make-up.  I hardly wore any in high school (does clear nail polish and eye liner count?), and I started wearing a bit more in college.

I wear some make-up to work, but I really wish that I had my own personal make-up guru to tell me what to buy, where to use it, how to put it on, when to use it and what looks good on me.  Is that too much to ask? ;)

Fabulous and Fashionable

Imagine my excitement when I got to meet up with 2 fabulously fashionable (and super nice) ladies a few weeks ago!  I met with Fabulously Broke and Glitter Geek for dinner and it was so much fun!

Being the dork that I am, I brought along my make-up bag so that I could show Glitter Geek my little stash and asked for her input on what products she recommended so I could get the most bang for my buck (after my shopping ban, of course).

Wish list

We took a field trip to Sephora after dinner, and she picked out these items for me.  Check them out!

Tarte Clay Blush ($25)

Bare Escentuals Matte Mineral Powder ($35)

Urban Decay Eyeliner in Eggplant and Green-gold ($18 each)

Benefit Eyebrow Pencil ($20)

Urban Decay Naked Eye Shadow Palette ($48)Sephora Brush Set ($32)

And last but not least, Glitter Geek also suggested I try a Fuschia pink lipstick!  Oh, my :)  But it looked sooo good on her, so I”ll put it on my list, as well.

Joe Fresh Matte Lipstick in Fuschia ($6)

Summary

I was a little weary about putting my wish list out there.  I mean, one can argue what is the point of a shopping ban if I am still thinking about buying these items.  True.

But I don’t think I have a crazy wish list.  It totals about $200 before taxes.  Besides, I would much rather have a few go-to-tried-and-true items, than a whole drawer full of mediocre items.

Do you have an on-going (make-up) wish list?

Cheers,

Note: All photos are from the Sephora website except the Joe Fresh lipstick (from the Joe Fresh website).

18 Comments

Filed under Fashion, PF Confession

18 responses to “PF Confessions: Make-up Wish List

  1. Ann

    Yay makeup! Makeup is my addiction and Sephora is like my Heaven. Anyway, out of your wish list, I’d go with the eyeliner first (since you have some practice using it) and those Urban Decay ones are fabulous and last for ages.

    The Joe Fresh lipstick is a great price, though I haven’t tried them myself. The brushes and eye shadow palettes would be good investments, too.

    • Glitter geek said the same thing about the eye liners. I really feel that my liners run out too quickly – 3 – 4 months. I’d much rather only buy them once or twice a year.

      Give Joe Fresh a try, I may have cheated on my shopping ban with PC points and got myself one…. :P

  2. Kay

    yep… have a wishlist for makeup!

    - bare escentuals mineral powder
    - dr.hauska moisturing face cream (I’m so pathetic with makeup that this qualifies as makeup for me)
    - a really good eye pencil .. maybe MAC kohl. I used to use this before and it worked great (when I used it that is)
    - I’m a lip balm person – weleda works great for me. But I hope there is a lipstick out there somewhere for me, that works for my lips without drying it out.

  3. I have a make up wish list! But I refrain myself from buying any just because I don’t wear make up that often :)

    My makeup “drawer / container” only consist of:
    1 black eyeliner
    1 liquid foundation
    1 mascara
    1 yellow, purple, pink eye shadow
    1 eye shadow palate that contains a shade of: blue, gold, pink & brown

    That’s about it :/ I don’t wear lipstick (just chapstick) and I don’t wear blush too. Hmm… I always think I need more, but I usually get by pretty well with just these basics :)

  4. I love love love love Bare Escentuals. It’s worth every cent. My make up wish list consists of Smashbox foundation primer and some liquid eyeliner (cheap though, ‘cuz I need to practice…badly).

  5. I WISH I had a wishlist! But sadly, like yourself, I’m clueless when it comes to make-up and just wish someone would tell me what I’d suit, what to buy, and what styles to go for :-) I have freckles, pale skin and I’m constantly blushing (HORRIBLE when I meet a guy I like!). Not a good match.

    • Tracey – I have the same colouring as you! What’s great about our complexion is that, unlike other people, we don’t have to buy blush ever! I’d recommend a tinted moisturizer (evens out complexion without erasing freckles), a good mascara (Maybelline Great Lash in black/brown would probably work well for you – not too much drama), and any sort of pinky-peachy-coral lipgloss (gloss is less scary if you don’t wear makeup very frequently). And you’re set! Just add a few more coats of mascara and maybe a darker lip colour for evening drama.

      • Hey thanks for the recommendations :-) I’ve never tried a tinted moisturiser – which I’ll have to do as I hate the smell and feel of liquid foundation – or coral/peach lip gloss. Thanks :-D

    • Yay! You a got a guru to help :)

  6. Ann

    MAC has a really, really nice tinted moisturizer. Or Clinique. You can make your own (frugal-style!) by diluting a lightweight foundation with your favourite moisturizer. Or go get a free sample from MAC, they’re quite generous.

  7. That would be a good way to use up old or unwanted foundation. Will give it a try :-) Thanks again, I look forward to reading your blog.

    And fabulously fru-girl, I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks now and it’s great! Sorry for hijacking your comments :-s

  8. I’ve finally established my makeup bag brands & products and I’m never going to switch lol I use:

    Benefit erase paste
    Dior mineral powder foundation
    Bare essentials mineral veil
    MAC mascara & eyeliner, and two shades of MAC eyeshadow
    Benefit blush in Coralista

    It’s kind of a lot of makeup.. I acquired it gradually lol it’s what I wear everyday. I think the whole lot is probably $200 but I buy as I run out

  9. Those recs sound perfect to me. That blush apparently is amazing :P

    And I can vouch for the Urban Decay eyeliners and Naked Eye palette

Leave a Reply

