Review: Bridesmaids

This weekend BF and I decided to go splurge and see a movie in theatre (gasp)!

I’m not a huge movie buff, but I usually like seeing a few a year.  There is something really nice and simple about sitting in a big, dark room and being entertained.

I originally was not too thrilled about the movie, “Bridesmaids.”  It looked like a girl version of “The Hangover,” and kinda stupid.  After reading a few very positive reviews (and a 90% rating from Rotten Tomatoes – yay!), I was convinced and even managed to get BF to see it with me :)

I’m glad I went to see it, even though it’s not exactly a “big screen” movie.  (I consider “big screen” movies to be explosions and action movies.)  Kristen Wiig stars as Annie, our heroine, and she also co-wrote the movie.

The movie was funny and smart.  It dealt with the superficial issues to real issues of loneliness and self esteem.  And, it was done in a cheeky and hilarious manner.  I seriously laughed and cried during this movie (more laughing than crying, though).

Even BF enjoyed it.  Though, he won’t admit it – I saw the way he laughed through it :)

Verdict: I think it is the perfect movie for a date night or a girl’s night.  How often can you say that? ;)

On a personal finance note, we really should have used a coupon (Rainbow Cinema – $6 each) instead of paying full price at AMC ($13.50 each).  It was a last minute decision, and we don’t do this often, so I’m okay with it, but we will be thrifty about our next movie.

Are you a movie buff?  Any good movies lately that you’ve seen?  Would you go watch Bridesmaids?

Cheers,

6 Comments

Filed under Review

6 responses to “Review: Bridesmaids

  1. It looks pretty funny. I might have to actually go see it now!

  2. Ann

    I’m going to see it on Monday and can’t wait!

  3. I’ve been wanting to watch this one! I’m not big on going to the theaters to watch movies, usually wait until they come out on video, but this one just reminded me too much of my girlfirends.

  4. I saw bridesmaids! I loved it. It was so funny!

  5. I can’t wait to see this movie – I just have to hope a theatre near by will get it in sometime soon. I did go see the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie. It’s ok, but really only worth a rental.

  6. Haha I have to admit to being biased against it immediately based on the name alone. I’m sort of anti-wedding because I’ve been a bridesmaid so many times. Yes, I’m wearing an engagement ring and planning a wedding. I’ve been around too many Bridezillas. I’m allergic. :) I don’t know if I’d enjoy it the way I have trouble enjoying The Office because it strikes too close to home – it’s like shades of PTSD. :D

Leave a Reply

