Daily Archives: May 12, 2011

Money for Musicians

(Photo source)

I live in a big city, and one of the great things about living in a big city, is the diversity and talent of the people living in it.  And I realize that I don’t take enough time to enjoy and recognize the talents of my fellow urbanites.  Specifically, I am referring to street musicians.

On the Subway

I take the subway at least 3 – 4 times a week, and as I am rushing off to work in the mornings, the street musicians are already there.  Some sing, others play musical instruments.  A lot of times, I’m too busy focused on my destination that I don’t even pay attention to anything else.

Every so often, I would drop some change in their guitar cases or tin cans, as a token of appreciation.

Last Week

I missed my train, and ended up waiting on the platform for a good 5 minutes.

The musician there played a beautiful melody which I recognized from the Sound of Music soundtrack.  It sounded so serene and beautiful.  When I went to drop off my change, I told him that I thought he played beautifully.

He was very modest, and explained that he didn’t quite know how to play the entire song, and asked if  I knew it.  I asked him if it was from the sound of music  he seemed so pleased that I recognized it.  I thanked him again, and boarded my train.

That made my day :)

Stopping to Appreciate the Music

Like many urbanites, I rush from one place to another.

This month, I am making a conscious effort to not only stop and appreciate the music more, I am going to try to always have some change on me, so that I can show these street musicians that I appreciate their efforts.

What are some of the things that you are making an effort to do this month?

Cheers, 


4 Comments

Filed under Goals, Random