Shopping Ban: January Fail

This year, I decided to embark on a self-imposed shopping ban.  You can read more details about it here, and here.  To sum it up, no shopping for clothes, jewelry and make-up for a whole year.  I am allowed 3 exceptions, including a pair of black boots, an iTouch, and a winter jacket.  This challenge is to help me shop my own closet, and be more creative with making items, and re-using items.  I am also allowed to shop at thrift stores with my “reward” money ($25) for staying within my $1,000 monthly budget.  This is my monthly update.

I broke the golden rule of shopping ban.  I set foot within a mall.  Ladies, it is not impossible to walk out a mall and not purchase anything, but it about 324,345,239 times harder than not going in, in the first place.

Earlier this January, I decided to gift my Esprit winter jacket to my mom.  I exchanged my size for my mom’s size, and I thought that was the end of that.  My mom loves loose fitting jackets and wanted me to exchange it for a size up.

So my sister and I went to the mall to exchange it.  My sister also invited her bestie, and we were off for an afternoon.  I found my mom’s desired jacket size, and I wanted to scope out some boot deals (since that was one of the items I allowed myself).

I found a pair of flat boots for $93 at Town Shoes.  I thought I was done… until I spotted La Senza’s bra sale for 50%.  I forgot how much I wanted a good bra (mine are all at least a year old, and the elastics are kinda gone).  I rationalized the bra purchase… and then I spotted a belt (for only $7.50!) at Costa Blanca.

The damage was done.  For a total damage $134.19.  Here’s the breakdown:

Flat boots: $105.09, bra: $20.62, belt:  $8.48.

I haven’t worn the belt, yet.  I feel it might have been a frivolous and impulsive purchase, that may not have improved my wardrobe. I will try to incorporate it into some February outfits, though – it’s got potential.

The bra and shoes are super comfy and I will be wearing them on an (almost) daily basis.

Conclusion: Fail on the shopping ban for January, but I won’t let this bump in the road stop me from completing the rest of my ban!  I am more determined than before to see my ban through to the end of this year.  I know I can do it! February is a short month!  I also got a great idea from Fabulously Broke in the City to catalog her entire wardrobe.  What a great idea!

Readers, how are your shopping bans coming along?

P.S. I’m thinking of compiling a lists of Shopping Ban bloggers so we can be accountable to one another. What do you think?  E-mail me or leave a comment if you’d like to be added to the list.

Cheers,

14 Comments

Filed under Fashion, Shopping Ban

14 responses to “Shopping Ban: January Fail

  1. I can relate on how it’s impossible to not walk into LaSenza when there’s a bra sale.

    I am on a shopping ban this year and so far so good, although I started it this month, because by the time I wanted to do this ban, I had already spent nearly $400 in clothes at the beginning of January. You can add me to your list!

    Good luck with the rest of the year. We’re in this together!

  2. Agreed, it’s definitely a lot easier to stick to a ban when you don’t go to the mall! Which is my ploy :)

    I’m on a ‘sort of’ shopping ban for the year; the only items I’m buying are boots, next winter, and some new jeans if I lose any more weight.
    My year without clothes shopping {2009} really made me focus on what I needed in terms of clothing…..and that has really stuck. But I’m not sure if it’ll last forever….

    Good luck with your challenge.

  3. Oh you can do it :) Just avoid the stores. My thing is to avoid going into a store so I don’t get tempted to buy anything.

    Harder than it looks….

  4. I almost want to go on a shopping ban myself but imposing one on me would be like giving the green light to want and eventually buy stuff after the ban is up. In other words I’m not strong enough yet! But I want to give it a go sooner or later.

    I don’t think a belt is as bad… it is almost like a necessity. I didn’t know that until I bought a belt for my waist. I use it to make longer tops shorter and use it for dresses that don’t fit too well. Try it with a bigger top or dress – it will make it look 20x better!

  5. I’m on a shopping ban as well. Entering the mall is *always* a challenge for me. ;-)

  6. A shopping ban seems like a good thing for me. I am so bad with budgeting. I work at a retail store so it is hard not to buy things when everyone around you are doing it. I like the idea of giving yourself some money when you stick to your ban each month.

  7. Ann

    Hi, I’m going through a shopping detox this year. Not an outright ban – though it may turn into that eventually – but being mindful of how I spend my money, and living as frugally as possible. I’d love to join your list, too! Need all the moral support I can get.

  8. Pingback: Shopping Ban: February Success! | fabulously fru-girl

  9. Pingback: Shopping Ban: March Success… sorta | fabulously fru-girl

Leave a Reply

